July 1, 2020

Ten from Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field Are Big Ten Distinguished Scholars


Ten members of the men’s cross country/track and field teams have earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar honors for the 2019-20 academic year, the conference office announced today. To be eligible, a student-athlete must maintain a 3.70 or better grade-point average for the academic year.

The Buckeyes’ honorees were:

  • Steven Bauers, a senior finance major from Pickerington, Ohio
  • Paul Bete, a senior finance major from Dayton, Ohio
  • Coty Cobb, a senior kinesiology major from Middletown, Ohio
  • Joseph Cooper, a junior sport industry major from Reynoldsburg, Ohio
  • Eric Halford, a sophomore data analytics major from Hudson, Ohio
  • Peter Hayden, a junior economics major from Bexley, Ohio
  • Terry Johnson, a senior construction systems management major from Columbus, Ohio
  • Luke Landis, a senior finance major from Norwalk, Ohio
  • Nick Regas, a sophomore marketing major from Needham, Mass.
  • Aaron Wood, a senior civil engineering major from Lancaster, Ohio

Ohio State led all conference schools with a total of 164 distinguished scholars. Landis was one of 26 Buckeye student-athletes who had a 4.0 grade-point average for the year.