February 20, 2020

Ten Buckeyes Named WCHA Scholar-Athletes




COLUMBUS, OhioTen Ohio State women’s ice hockey players were honored today as 2019-20 Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) Women’s League Scholar-Athlete Award recipients. To earn recognition as a WCHA Scholar-Athlete, league-member student-athletes must have completed at least one year of residency at their present institution prior to the current academic year and must also have a grade-point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for the previous two semesters or three quarters.

This year’s recipients are:

Madison Bizal (So.) – Sport Industry

Andrea Braendli (So.) – Psychology and Criminology & Criminal Justice double major

Jincy Dunne** (RS-Sr.) – Sport Coaching (Masters)

Rebecca Freiburger*** (Sr.) – Exercise Science Education

Emma Maltais (Jr.) – Health Sciences

Gabby Rosenthal (So.) – Speech and Hearing Science

Sara Saekkinen (So.) – Sport Industry

Eve Savander (So.) – Sport Industry

Tatum Skaggs** (Jr.) – Special Education

Lynsey Wallace (Jr.) – Animal Science

** Indicates two-time recipient

*** Indicates three-time recipient