December 4, 2017

Teitelbaum to be Inducted Into Women’s Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association Hall of Fame in May


Dec. 4, 2017

Columbus, Ohio – Ohio State women’s rowing head coach Andy Teitelbaum has been selected to be inducted into the Women’s Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association Hall of Fame in May at the 2018 NCAA Championships. Teitelbaum’s honor was announced Friday night (Dec. 1) at the annual US Rowing Conference in Sarasota, Fla.

The CRCA Hall of Fame recognizes collegiate coaches who have impacted the sport of rowing in a fine fashion while displaying tremendous leadership, competitive excellence and the ability to mentor student-athletes.

Serving as the only head coach in program history, Teitelbaum has overseen the rise to prominence by Buckeye rowing as a national contender year in and year out. He led Ohio State to three-straight NCAA Championships from 2013-15 to make Ohio State the first school in NCAA history to earn a three-peat. The national title was the first for a Big Ten rowing squad, and it was Ohio State’s first women’s national title in school history.

Over his first 22 years of coaching, Teitelbaum has put together an impressive resume. He has guided the Buckeyes to eight conference titles since the Big Ten established rowing as a sport in 2000. Currently, the Scarlet and Gray have claimed the last five conference titles dating back to 2013. No other team has yet to win more than two conference titles in a row during Teitelbaum’s career.

Under Teitelbaum’s guidance, Ohio State boats have won seven national titles and 36 Big Ten titles to go along with 44 individual All-Americans. The 23rd year head coach has led Ohio State to 18 consecutive trips to the NCAA Championships, making it one of only four schools in the nation to boast that accomplishment. He has been named the Big Ten Coach of the Year seven times during his tenure, and he is a five-time CRCA Central-Region Coach of the Year.

He has coached six different Buckeyes to Big Ten Rower of the Year honors. Most recently in the spring of 2017, sophomore Ida Kruse earned the award to join the likes of Conny Kirsch (2002), Ninett Kossowsky (2006), Claire-Louise Bode (2013), Catherine Shields (2014 & 2016) and Ashley Bauer (2015).

Teitelbaum graduated Phi Beta Kappa with a bachelor’s degree in economics from Rutgers in 1987. He resides in Columbus with his wife, Jennifer. He has a son, Benjamin.