May 21, 2014

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 1 Ohio State rowing team garnered two Big Ten honors Wednesday as head coach Andy Teitelbaum was named Big Ten Coach of the Year and sophomore Catherine Shields was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, the conference office announced.

The award marks a conference-record fifth Coach of the Year laurel for Teitelbaum and his third in the last four years, as he previously earned the honor in 2002, 2006, 2011 and 2013. This season, Teitelbaum coached Ohio State to a second-consecutive Big Ten Championship and a record-tying fifth conference title overall after the team posted five varsity wins (1V8, 2V8, 1V4, 2V4, 3V4) to total a championship record 164 points. Throughout the 2014 regular season, Teitelbaum guided the Buckeye varsity crews to a 29-9 record, including a perfect 8-0 mark in the first varsity eight.

Shields, a native of Rangiora, New Zealand, becomes the second-consecutive and fourth Buckeye overall to win Athlete of the Year, following senior Claire-Louise Bode who claimed the honor in 2013. The sophomore also becomes the first student-athlete to win Freshman and Athlete of the Year in consecutive years, joining Michigan State’s Anne Cowan (2005, 2008) and Laura Cowal (2008, 2011) as winners of both awards.

This season, Shields helped the first varsity eight to a second-consecutive gold medal at the Big Ten Championships, tallying 63 points toward the team total to secure the title for the Buckeyes. A one-year member of the first varsity eight, Shields was awarded First Team All-Big Ten honors for her performance at the championships as the boat posted a 9-0 mark on the season with its win. In 2013, Shields led the second varsity eight to a perfect 12-0 mark, guiding the crew to gold medal finishes at both the Big Ten and NCAA Championships as a freshman.

Ohio State returns to postseason action at the 2014 NCAA Championships May 30-June 1 at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind. The Buckeyes, defending national champions, will be making their 15th-consecutive appearance at the NCAA Championships and their 16th appearance overall.

The Buckeyes enter the championships this year as the No. 1 seed in the first varsity eight and the No. 3 seed in both the second varsity eight and first varsity four.

Coach of the Year:

Andy Teitelbaum, Ohio State

Athlete of the Year:

Catherine Shields, Ohio State

Freshman of the Year:

Alice Wright, Indiana