Dec. 15, 2015


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Nicolas Szerszen, a sophomore on the Ohio State men’s volleyball team, has been voted to the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. Preseason All-American First Team. The top-10 vote-getters in the country received First Team honors.

The fifth annual Off the Block/Springback, Inc. Preseason All-American teams were decided by an 18-member voting committee comprised of head coaches and volleyball reporters from across the country.

Official Off the Block release

Setter: Peter Hutz, Loyola
Setter: Jonah Seif, UC Santa Barbara
Opposite: Tamir Hershko, UC Irvine
Opposite: Ben Patch, BYU
Outside attacker: Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State
Outside attacker: Sinisa Zarkovic, Hawai’i
Middle attacker: Jason Agopian, UC Irvine
Middle attacker: Jeff Jendryk, Loyola
Middle attacker: Bobby Walsh, Lewis
Libero: Kolby Kanetake, Hawai’i

Setter: Scott Fifer, Lewis
Setter: Jennings Franciskovic, Hawai’i
Setter: James Shaw, Stanford
Opposite: Matt Tarantino, Pepperdine
Outside attacker: JT Hatch, UCLA
Outside attacker: Jake Langlois, BYU
Outside attacker: Brenden Sander, BYU
Middle attacker: Andy Benesh, USC
Middle attacker: Conrad Kaminski, Stanford
Middle attacker: Nick Olson, Loyola
Libero: Andrew Sato, Long Beach State

Szerszen earned AVCA All-America honorable mention and was named the MIVA Freshman of the Year in 2015. He ranked fifth in the MIVA and 16th nationally averaging .39 service aces per set. Szerszen was also ranked in the MIVA top-10 for points (3.77/set; 7th), attacking efficiency (.307; 8th) and kills (3.10; t-8th) while starting all 30 matches for the Scarlet & Gray.

Miles Johnson, Driss Guessous and Christy Blough also received votes for the Preseason All-American teams. Johnson just missed out a Second Team slot, finishing 25th in the voting as 21 players were placed on the two Preseason All-American squads.

The Buckeyes host an exhibition match vs. McMaster University on Dec. 31 at 5 p.m. before officially getting the 2016 season started with a regular season contest vs. McMaster on Jan. 2 (7 p.m.) inside St. John Arena.