December 28, 2017

Szerszen is Top Vote-Getter for Preseason All-America Teams


Dec. 28, 2017


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Nicolas Szerszen received the most votes in the country for the Off The Block Preseason All-America Teams, grabbing a spot on the First Team. It marks the second season in which Szerszen was the top vote-getter. Buckeye teammate Blake Leeson also received votes for 2018 Preseason All-America recognition.

Off The Block release

The 16-member voting committee is comprised of men’s volleyball head coaches and volleyball reporters from around the nation. Twenty student-athletes are named to the Preseason All-America squads, 10 to the First Team and 10 to the Second Team. Off The Block is the only volleyball organization to present men’s volleyball Preseason All-America Teams.

Setter: Josh Tuaniga, Long Beach State
Opposite: Stijn van Tilburg, Hawai’i
Opposite: Kyle Ensing, Long Beach State
Outside attacker: Jake Arnitz, UCLA
Outside attacker: TJ DeFalco, Long Beach State
Outside attacker: Brenden Sander, BYU
Outside attacker: Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State
Middle attacker: Jeff Jendryk, Loyola
Libero: Evan Enriques, Stanford
Libero: Larry Tuileta, Hawai’i 

Setter: Leo Durkin, BYU
Setter: Micah Ma’a, UCLA
Opposite: Arvis Greene, CSUN
Opposite: Calvin Mende, Penn State
Outside attacker: Ryan Coenen, Lewis
Outside attacker: David Wieczorek, Pepperdine
Middle attacker: Price Jarman, BYU
Middle attacker: Kevin Rakestraw, Stanford
Middle attacker: Scott Stadick, UC Irvine
Middle attacker: Matt Walsh, Ball State

Matt Szews, Ball State
Tanner Syftestad, UC San Diego
Joshua Ayzenburg, Sacred Heart
Matt Yoshimoto, Lewis
Mitch Perinar, Lewis
JT Hatch, UCLA
Daenan Gyimah, UCLA
Aaron Koubi, UC Irvine
Vasilis Mandilaris, Barton
Jeff Sprayberry, King
Blake Leeson, Ohio State
Jordan Ewert, Stanford
Dimitar Kalchev, CSUN
Rado Parapunov, Hawai’i
George Huhmann, Princeton
Luke Braswell, Penn State
Gabe Woffindin, St. Francis