May 24, 2004

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s synchronized swimming team held its annual end-of-the-year awards and appreciation banquet Sunday afternoon. The Buckeyes closed their season with a second-place finish at the 2004 U.S. National Championships, the highest since 1985, and recorded their 24th collegiate national title.

Ohio State senior team member Katie Meyer (Cincinnati, Ohio) was honored at the banquet in front of her family and team members and presented her “Words of Wisdom,” an Ohio State synchronized swimming senior tradition.

Meyer was the recipient of the ‘B’ Team Buckeye award for outstanding Buckeye spirit, a strong ability to work and excellent motivation. She also won the Carmen Ohio award, given annually to the senior athlete who exemplifies outstanding leadership skills and team spirit.

The most outstanding swimming awarded was shared between freshmen Becky Kim (Walnut Creek, Calif.) and Kate Hooven (Pleasonton, Calif.) Kim and Hooven won the duet event at the 2004 Collegiate National Championships. They also won the trio event with teammate Lindsay Newbill (Laguana Hills, Calif.) and were part of the ‘A’ squad that earned first place in the team event. Hooven also was the ‘A’ Team Buckeye award winner.

The most improved new swimmer award went to freshman Ellen Hacker (Newark, Ohio), who was the collegiate national ‘B’ figures champion. The most improved swimmer award was given to Megan Mikulecky (Carmichael, Calif). Mikulecky improved her figures score 4.205 points better than last year. Carly Grimshaw (Markham, Ontario) earned the JoAnn Ferguson Kale Award, given to the team member who is friendly, helpful and respectful of others and themselves.

All-Americans Hooven, Kim and Newbill were presented with their certificates.

Ohio State head coach and U.S. Olympic assistant coach Linda Witter, 2004 National Collegiate Coach of the Year Holly Vargo-Brown, volunteer coach Annemarie Licher and assistants Suzanna Hyatt and Victoria Bowen were also recognized.