March 14, 2014

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State pistol head coach James Sweeney has been named the NRA Distinguished Coach of the Year, the organization announced. The award marks the third Coach of the Year honor for Sweeney, who previously earned the recognition in 2003 and 2011.

This season, Sweeney led the program to its sixth NRA Intercollegiate National Championship as the team shot an overall open team score of 6,310 to claim first place over the U.S. Naval Academy, which placed second with a team score of 6,277, and the U.S. Military Academy, which placed third with a team score of 6,239.

The championship marks the second time the Buckeyes have won a national title in open team competition under Sweeney, as they previously claimed an open team title in his first season as head coach in 2000. Sweeney has also guided the women’s team to four national championships, notching titles in 2000, 2003, 2004 and 2009.

A member of the Varsity “O” Hall of Fame, Sweeney has served as head coach of the Ohio State pistol team for more than 15 years, coaching the squad to six NRA Collegiate National Championship titles and coaching eight student-athletes to 26 NRA Collegiate Individual Championships. Throughout his time with the pistol program, Sweeney has coached one Ohio State Female Athlete of the Year (Teresa Meyer), two Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor recipients (Laura Murray and Jessica Marshall), 37 All-Americans and 39 Academic All-Big Ten honorees.