Oct. 6, 2014

Women’s Track/Cross Country   |   Women’s Track/Cross Country

Katie Borchers
Russia, Ohio
Major: Exercise Science

Last season, Katie Borchers became the first cross country All-American in school history and an All-Big Ten performer. During the spring track season, she added to her outstanding junior campaign with a Big Ten championship in the 800-meter run.

This season, Borchers has been the top Buckeye performer at all three meets and finished first overall in two races.

Student Life
Do you prefer Oval Beach in the Fall or Spring (or maybe the Winter)? The Spring – I love walking through when the trees are just starting to bloom and the weather is getting warm.
Where is the best place to sit for lectures? Toward the front, but not the front row. It depends on the class as well, but typically the second or third row is ideal.
Most underrated place to study on campus – The Ohio Union. There are many different areas throughout the Union – you just have to find the right spot. I also like Younkin, especially when you want to study with your teammates.
Why did you choose your major? I am fascinated by how the body works and how all of their parts work together. Being an Exercise Science major, I get to learn about all of the different body processes as well as learning how to function maximally.
If you were the University President for a day, what would you do? Probably cancel classes for the day!

Popular Culture
Favorite TV show – Pretty Little Liars
Favorite movie – Dear John – it gets me every time.
Favorite book and/or magazine – I do not have a favorite book, but I tend to like all of the Nicholas Sparks books
Last concert I attended was – Country Concert in Fort Loramie, Ohio

Favorite pro sports team – Cincinnati Reds
Favorite athlete – Brenda Martinez
The athlete I would most like to compete against – Brenda Martinez or Jenny Simpson
Favorite athletic memory – As a team, one of my favorite memories was how well we placed at the Big Ten meet last cross country season. Hopefully we will do even better this year! Individually, my favorite memory is becoming the 800-meter Big Ten champion last spring.
Team you’re most looking forward to competing against – All of the Big Ten teams!
Pre-game/match superstition/Pre-game/match ritual – I have a peanut butter/banana sandwich before races but other than that, I try to just go with the flow. However, my teammates say I tend to do a lot of things the same way.
What is your top skill? What skill do you need to improve? I think my top skill would be listening to others. I tend to not give my opinion too much in certain situations. I think I need to improve on living in the moment. I catch myself worrying too much about the future and putting too much pressure on myself and need to just let go sometimes.

Most interesting place I’ve visited – I traveled a lot when I was younger and do not remember a lot of those trips, but I love going out to Oregon. The weather is always beautiful and it is very peaceful.
Place I would like to visit – Somewhere warm outside of the United States.

Favorite home-cooked meal – Pork chops, mashed potatoes, noodles and rolls.
Favorite snack food – Ice Cream!

Person I most admire – I admire both of my parents for always supporting me in everything I do.
In 10 years, I would like to be – a Physical Therapist.
If I had a million dollars, I would – go on a vacation.
Coolest thing you did this past summer – Went to the Cincinnati Reds game. I know, nothing too crazy, but in my defense I took a lot of summer classes!
I would like to trade places for a day with – I would trade places with one of my uncles. They run their own business and I think it would be really cool to see what it is like to be in charge for the day.
If you could have dinner with any 3 people (alive or dead), who would they be and what/where would you eat – Phoebe Wright and my Grandma and Grandpa Borchers. Phoebe Wright because I read all of her blogs and think she is hilarious. My Grandma and Grandpa Borchers because I did not really get to know them but I have heard so many stories and I think we would get along great. I would probably have some sort of a home cooked meal, because those are the best!
Dream event (non-sport or sport-related) you would like to attend – I would love to attend an Olympic event just to experience the atmosphere.
Do you have an interesting nickname? I get called by my last name a lot (Borchers) or Borch.
What is your hometown known for? Nothing really (haha). Russia is a small village with no stoplights and a K-12 school located right in the middle. The average graduating class is around 38 students, so I guess you can just say my hometown is very unique!
Pop or Soda? Pop
Cats or Dogs? Dogs
Early Bird or Night Owl? Definitely an early bird.