December 3, 2021

Stroud a Finalist for the Manning Award


COLUMBUS, OhioRedshirt freshman quarterback C.J. Stroud, a Heisman Trophy candidate as a first-year starter for the Buckeyes, added to his list of postseason awards and honors on Friday when he was named one of 10 finalists for the Manning Award.

The winner will be announced after the bowls in January. The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes the candidates’ bowl performances into consideration in its balloting.

Stroud, who hadn’t thrown a collegiate pass before this season, ranks in the top 10 nationally in eight different statistical categories. With a passer efficiency rating of 182.2, which is currently an Ohio State single-season record, Stroud’s led the Buckeyes to the nation’s No. 1 total offense and scoring offense.

Earlier this week, Stroud became the first player in conference history to sweep the Big Ten’s Offensive Player of the Year, Quarterback of the Year and Freshman of the Year awards. He’s also a finalist for the Davey O’Brien Award and a semifinalist for the Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award, which is presented by the Maxwell Football Club of Philadelphia.