COLUMBUS, Ohio — The Ohio State Spirit program selected is squad members for the 2010-11 athletic season the weekend of April 17. Among the selection process was the naming of the new Brutus Buckeyes, cheerleaders and dance team members.

There were 81 total participants before two rounds of cuts for cheerleading, 13 individuals trying out for the role of Brutus Buckeye and more than 36 at the dance team tryout.

Members of the cheerleadering/Brutus Buckeye squad are Aaron Lamancusa (Salem, Ohio), Abby DiSabato, Alan Ray (Groveport, Ohio), AJ Blankenship (Circleville, Ohio), Allison Humbert (Green, Ohio), Ally Taulbee (Gahanna, Ohio), Anthony Perez (Hillsboro, Ohio), Ben Schmidt (Carroll, Ohio), Breanna Boecher (Kenton, Ohio), Brendan Tesch (Lockport Ill.), Brittany Maynard (Grove City, Ohio), Brittney Ali (Massillon, Ohio), Brooke Shearer (Churubusco Ind.), Cassie Benfield (Elida, Ohio), Cassie Bernard (Hinckley, Ohio), Christina Boulding (Kent, Ohio), Conrad Wilkinson (Perry, Ohio), Courtney Keller (Columbus, Ohio), David Brentlinger (Lancaster, Ohio), Emily Mahnke, Erica King (Columbus, Ohio), Felicia Moser, Gordon Rankin, Ian Henschen, Jamal Niles, Janie Geyer, John Paul Thompson (Kettering, Ohio), Joshua Leaming (Spring Valley, Ohio), Joshua Springer (Clayton, Ohio), Kennah Mason (Kent, Ohio), Lukas Cane (Bellefontaine, Ohio), Mike Jameson (Indian Hill, Ohio), Nate Wise (Tiffin, Ohio), Nina Piergallini (Smithfield, Ohio), Rebecca Stomps, Samuel DeSalvatore (Brentwood, Tenn.), Samantha Axelrod (Dublin, Ohio), Raymond Sharp (Westerville, Ohio), Brian Bolibrzuch, Ian Schmitt (Gahanna, Ohio), Christopher Howard (Galloway, Ohio), Robert Ray (Groveport, Ohio) and Sean Stazen (Columbus, Ohio).

Members of the dance team, who will be actively involved at basketball games, include Katie Cutshaw (Carmel, Ind.), Caitlin Deardorff (Kenton, Ohio), Emma Dickman (Cleves, Ohio), Melissa Heintschel (Waterville, Ohio), Marissa Houdek (Strongsville, Ohio), Tessie Kernell (Norwalk, Ohio), Shayla Koester (Fort Jennings, Ohio), Kate Lorenzetti (Niles, Ohio), Melissa McGhee (Toledo, Ohio), Jamie Moore (Cincinnati, Ohio), Ashley Peck (Newark, Ohio), Caitlin Riley (Toledo, Ohio), Brittany Sagle (Blacklick, Ohio), Katie Simmons (Naperville, Ill.), Erica Stratz (Willoughbym, Ohio), Sarah Tanko (North Royalton, Ohio) and Nikki Toland (Holland, Ohio).

The cheer team will continue to lift and have open gyms during spring quarter while the dance team will have a few spring practices and start back in July. Brutus Buckeye will continue to be seen throughout Columbus for the spring and summer. All teams will report back in August for camp.

Under the direction of first-year head coach Lenee Buchman, the cheerleaders took fifth place in January at the UCA College Nationals, the squad’s highest finish since taking second in 2001.