Nov. 8, 2006

FORT WORTH, TEXAS – The Davey O’Brien Foundation today announced eighteen semifinalists for the 2006 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback. The organization’s original watch list, unveiled in August, included 34 players.

The O’Brien Selection Committee, made up of a nationwide panel of sportswriters, commentators and former O’Brien Award winners, will vote later this month to narrow the field again. The three finalists will be announced November 21 by the National College Football Awards Association in a joint effort among college football award programs.

The eighteen semifinalists, in alphabetical order, are:
Erik Ainge, Tennessee, Jr., SEC
John Beck, BYU, Sr., MWC
John David Booty, USC, Jr., PAC-10
Colt Brennan, Hawai’i, Jr., WAC
Brian Brohm, Louisville, Jr., Big East
Chad Henne, Michigan, Jr., Big Ten
Kevin Kolb, Houston, Sr., C-USA
Chris Leak, Florida, Sr., SEC
Nate Longshore, California, So., PAC-10
Colt McCoy, Texas, Fr., Big 12
Tyler Palko, Pittsburgh, Sr., Big East
Brady Quinn, Notre Dame, Sr., Ind.
Bobby Reid, Oklahoma State, So., Big 12
JaMarcus Russell, LSU, Jr., SEC
Troy Smith, Ohio State, Sr., Big Ten
John Stocco, Wisconsin, Sr., Big Ten
Pat White, West Virginia, So., Big East
Jared Zabransky, Boise State, Sr., WAC

The winner of the 2006 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced on ESPN’s Home Depot College Football Awards Show scheduled for December 7 at 7 p.m. EST. The show will air live from the Atlantic Dance Hall on The Boardwalk at Walt Disney World in Orlando, Florida. The winner will then be honored on February 19, 2007, at the 30th annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in downtown Fort Worth, Texas, along with Paul Hornung, recipient of the 2006 Davey O’Brien Legends Award, and the O’Brien High School Scholarship Award winner.

Celebrating 30 years, the O’Brien Award is the oldest and most prestigious award in the country for college quarterbacks. The Davey O’Brien Foundation was established in 1977 to present the O’Brien Memorial Trophy, recognizing an outstanding college football player in the five southwestern states of Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma and New Mexico. In 1981, the award was redirected to be national in scope but limited to quarterback, the favorite position of the award’s namesake, Davey O’Brien. The award carries with it a $10,000 grant to the scholarship program of the university in which the winner is enrolled. A high school scholarship program began in 1986, awarding a $20,000 college scholarship to an outstanding senior student-athlete in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex each year. Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has awarded more than $250,000 to the various O’Brien winners’ universities and more than $400,000 to deserving high school students.

Air transportation is provided by American Airlines, the official airline of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

For more information, please visit