July 1, 2020

Six Placed on Big Ten Distinguished Scholars List



FacebookTwitter | Instagram  ­

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Six members of the Ohio State softball team earned the Big Ten’s prestigious Distinguished Scholars honors on Wednesday. In order to be eligible, student-athletes must be in at least their second year on campus and earn a 3.7 or better grade point average during the 2019-20 academic year.

Niki Carver, Summer Constable, Megan McMenemy and Claire Nicholson are making their first appearance on the list while Andi Farrah and Spencer Sansom are two-time honorees. In addition, Sansom is one of 11 softball players conference-wide to achieve a perfect 4.0 grade point average for the academic year.

Nicholson (human development & family science), Farrah (health sciences), Constable (physical activity & coaching specialist), Carver (special education), Sansom (physical activity & coaching specialist) and McMenemy (health sciences) all garnered Academic All-Big Ten laurels in June.

With six players recognized, it is the most since the 2013-14 academic year when five Buckeyes were placed on the list.

Ohio State Buckeyes