November 13, 2022

Six Buckeyes Win Championships at Del Rosa Open


Order Ohio State Tickets | Brackets

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Eight Buckeyes competed at the Bob Del Rosa Ohio Intercollegiate Open Sunday at the Veale Athletic Center on the campus of Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland. Seven advanced to the finals of their respective brackets and six won championships.

In the open division, Ohio State redshirt senior Brady Koontz won his bracket at 125 with a 6-3 win by decision over Nick Molchak of Cleveland State. The Buckeye’s Dylan Koontz pinned (6:03) Indiana’s Isaac Thornton to earn the title at 133.

Junior Isaac Wilcox, wrestling unattached in the open division, defeated Dom Means of Gannon University by decision, 8-3, in the title bout at 157. In the 184-pound open bracket, redshirt freshman Gavin Bell finished second. He fell in the title match by decision, 9-5, to Cole Houser of Glenville State.

Ohio State freshman Brendan McCrone won his second open event of his career in as many outings with a pin over Anthony Aniciete in the championship match of the 125 freshman/sophomore bracket. He also won the same division at the Michigan State open to begin the year Nov. 5.

Sophomore Bryer Hall, wrestling unattached in the freshman/sophomore division, defeated Luke Vanadia, also unattached, by decision 7-3, to win the 174-pound bracket.

Redshirt freshman Mike Misita, wrestling unattached, won the freshman/sophomore division’s HWT bracket with a major decision win, 11-1, over Thad Huff of Bellarmine. Hogan Swenski, also wrestling unattached in the heavyweight freshman/sophomore division, finished sixth.

Blue Division (open to all) 125
Brady Koontz- 1st Place
Quarterfinal – Brady Koontz (Ohio State) def. Marcello Milani (S.A.W.) (Dec 8-1)
Semifinal – Brady Koontz (Ohio State) def. Brandon Mendoza (Tiffin) (MFF)
1st Place Match – Brady Koontz (Ohio State) def. Nick Molchak (Cleveland State) (Dec 6-3)

Blue Division (open to all) 133
Dylan Koontz – 1st Place
Champ. Round 1 – Dylan Koontz (Ohio State) received a bye () (Bye)
Quarterfinal – Dylan Koontz (Ohio State) received a bye () (Bye)
Semifinal – Dylan Koontz (Ohio State) won by fal over Gavin Quiocho (Glenville State) (Fall 7:35)
1st Place Match – Dylan Koontz (Ohio State) won by fall over Isaac Thornton (Indiana) (Fall 6:03)

Blue Division (open to all) 157
Isaac Wilcox – 1st Place
Champ. Round 1 – Isaac Wilcox (Unattached) def.  John Altieri (Clarion-unattached) (Dec 12-5)
Quarterfinal – Isaac Wilcox (Unattached) def. Nolan Wheeler (Newberry College) (Fall 0:57)
Semifinal – Isaac Wilcox (Unattached) def. Zack Rotkvich (Indiana) (Maj 13-2)
1st Place Match – Isaac Wilcox (Unattached) def. Dom Means (Gannon University) (Dec 8-3)

Blue Division (open to all) 184
Gavin Bell – 2nd Place
Quarterfinal – Gavin Bell (Ohio State) won by tech fall over Gabe Phillips (Cleveland State) (TF 17-0)
Semifinal – Gavin Bell (Ohio State) won by fall over Drayton Harris (Indiana RTC) (Fall 2:03)
1st Place Match – Cole Houser (Glenville State) won by decision over Gavin Bell (Ohio State) (Dec 9-5)

White Division (Frosh/Soph) – 125
Brendan McCrone – 1st Place
Quarterfinal – Brendan McCrone (Ohio State) def. Nicholas Cottone (Davis & Elkins) (Dec 5-2)
Semifinal – Brendan McCrone (Ohio State) def. Chris Petteys (Gannon University) (Fall 2:02)
1st Place Match – Brendan McCrone (Ohio State) def. Anthony Aniciete (Tiffin) (Fall 1:40)

White Division (Frosh/Soph) 174
Bryer Hall – 1st Place
Champ. Round 2 – Bryer Hall (Unattached) def. Leonardo Galasso (Central Michigan) (Fall 3:25)
Quarterfinal – Bryer Hall (Unattached) def. Jr Reed (Cleveland State) (Dec 14-8)
Semifinal – Bryer Hall (Unattached) def. Matt Gentry (Gannon University) (Fall 1:22)
1st Place Match – Bryer Hall (Unattached) def. Luke Vanadia (Unattached) (Dec 7-3)

White Division (Frosh/Soph) – 285
Hogan Swenski – 6th Place
Champ. Round 2 – Hogan Swenski (Unattached) def. Mason Mustain (Ashland) (Dec 6-1)
Quarterfinal – Hogan Swenski (Unattached) def. Jacob Noon (Tiffin) (Maj 10-1)
Semifinal – Thad Huff (Bellarmine) def. Hogan Swenski (Unattached) (Inj. 2:03)
Cons. Semi – Nate DeGroff (RIT) def. Hogan Swenski (Unattached) (MFF)
5th Place Match – Mason Mustain (Ashland) def. Hogan Swenski (Unattached) (MFF)

White Division (Frosh/Soph) 285
Mike Misita – 1st Place
Champ. Round 2 – Mike Misita (Unattached) def. Nate DeGroff (RIT) (Fall 2:01)
Quarterfinal – Mike Misita (Unattached) def. Mason Cover (Cleveland State) (Fall 4:26)
Semifinal – Mike Misita (Unattached) def. Clayton Ours (Tiffin) (Fall 2:31)
1st Place Match – Mike Misita (Unattached) def. Thad Huff (Bellarmine) (MD, 11-1)

Del Rosa, a Spartan Club Hall of Fame member, served Case Western Reserve University for 49 years with 46 seasons at the helm of the Spartan wrestling program. As a wrestling coach, he produced four national champions, 37 national qualifiers, 18 All-Americans, and 35 Scholar All-Americans. In 1996, Del Rosa was inducted into the NCAA Division III Wrestling Hall of Fame.

The event returned after a two-year hiatus.

No. 4 Ohio State is back in action at 7 p.m. Friday in a dual vs. Columbia at the Covelli Center.


Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes