July 10, 2018

Six Buckeyes Earn Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Honors


RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on FacebookTwitter and Instagram | 2018-19 Schedule

COLUMBUS, Ohio — In a historic season that saw the Buckeyes reach the Frozen Four for the first time, six members of the team also earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar status, the conference announced on Tuesday.

Current Buckeyes Madison Field, Rebecca Freiburger and Jacyn Reeves are joined by a trio of recent graduates in Julianna Iafallo, Kassidy Sauve and Lauren Spring on the list on honorees. The six Buckeyes to earn the distinction lead all the women’s ice hockey teams at Big Ten schools.

This is the second time Spring has earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar status, she previously earned the honors for the 2016-17 school year. Spring finished with a perfect 4.0 grade-point-average for her senior year, one of only three women’s hockey players to do so.

To earn Big Ten Distinguished Scholar status a student-athlete must be in at least their second academic year at an institution and record a grade-point-average of, at minimum, 3.7 for the previous academic year.

The current slate of Buckeyes are gearing up for the start of a new season, set to get underway against Quinnipiac on September 28.