January 9, 2020

Six Buckeyes Among 150 Greatest Players … So Far


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State football program was well represented on an ESPN list of the 150 greatest football players of all-time with six performers included among the initial 125 players named today by the network. ESPN is nearing the conclusion of its season-long College Football 150 initiative that celebrated the 150th season of the sport.

The final 25 greatest players on this ESPN list will be announced Monday evening, Jan. 13, at halftime of the College Football Playoff national championship game, so there is potential for even more Buckeyes to be included on the list. A panel of 150 former coaches and players, and administrators and media, selected the list.

Running back Eddie George was the top-ranked Buckeye on today’s list with a ranking of No. 38. Safety/linebacker Jack Tatum (No. 44), running Howard “Hopalong” Cassady (No. 47) and offensive tackle Orlando Pace (No. 51) were close behind and position Ohio State with at least four of the greatest 51 players in the sport all-time.

Go Bucks!

ESPN's 150 Greatest Players

Ohio State Buckeyes

No. 38  RB Eddie George (1992-95)

College Football Hall of Fame (2012) member won the 1995 Heisman Trophy and his name adorns the Big Ten Conference’s offensive player of the year award.

No. 44  SAF/LB Jack Tatum (1967-70)

Two-time unanimous All-American (1969-70) and College Football Hall of Famer (2004) whose name is on the Big Ten’s defensive back of the year award.

No. 47  RB Howard “Hopalong” Cassady (1952-55)

The first Heisman Trophy winner (1955) to surpass 2,000 total points in voting and who was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1979.

No. 51  OT Orlando Pace (1994-96)

1996 Heisman Trophy finalist, a two-time winner of the Lombardi Award, Outland Trophy winner and member of the College (2014) and Pro (2015) football Halls of Fame.

No. 141 OG Jim Parker (1954-56)

Unanimous All-American (1956) and Outland Trophy winner who is a member of the College (1974) and Pro (1973) football Halls of Fame, respectively. No. 143 LB Chris Spielman (1984-87) – 2009

No. 143 LB Chris Spielman (1984-87)

2009 inductee into the College Football Hall of Fame and the winner of the 1987 Lombardi Award was a unanimous (1987) and consensus (1986) All-American.