Dec. 11, 2015

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State junior running back Ezekiel Elliott was today named the Chicago Tribune’s Big Ten Most Valuable Player. The Tribune has named its Big Ten MVP since 1924. Elliott is the 18th Buckeye to win the honor and with it comes the exemplary, classical and instantly recognizable Silver Football trophy.

Elliott was a finalist for the award along with Iowa junior quarterback C.J. Beathard and Michigan State senior quarterback Connor Cook. The Silver Football is voted on by the conference coaches and Elliott secured eight of 13 first-place votes with one school not submitting a vote this year.

This season Elliott led the Big Ten Conference in rushing with 139.3 yards per game, scoring (19 touchdowns an 114 points) and all-purpose yards at 155.1 yards per game. He is No. 5 nationally in rushing yards with 1,672 and second in rushing TDs.

Elliott’s season included 11 100-yard rushing games, including a 274-yard game against Indiana that featured second-half touchdown runs of 55-, 65- and 75-yards and an Ohio State record 243 rushing yards in one half.

Elliott capped the regular season with his fifth career 200-yard game – tying Eddie George’s school record – with 214 yards in the 42-13 win over Michigan at Michigan Stadium.

Now Ohio State’s second all-time leading rusher with 3,812 yards and impressively in between Archie Griffin and Eddie George, Elliott was previously named the Big Ten’s Graham-George offensive player of the year and the Ameche-Dayne running back of the year.

Buckeye Silver Football Winners

2015 RB Ezekiel Elliott
2013 QB Braxton Miller
2012 QB Braxton Miller
2006 QB Troy Smith
1998 QB Joe Germaine
1996 OT Orlando Pace
1995 RB Eddie George
1984 RB Keith Byars
1981 QB Art Schlichter
1975 QB Cornelius Greene
1974 RB Archie Griffin
1973 RB Archie Griffin
1955 HB Howard Cassady
1950 HB Vic Janowicz
1945 FB Ollie Cline
1944 HB Les Horvath
1941 FB Jack Graf
1930 E Wes Fesler