July 1, 2020

Seven From Men’s Lacrosse Named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Seven members of the men’s lacrosse team were among those honored on Wednesday as Big Ten Distinguished Scholars. This year’s honorees were Colby Barker (sport industry), Lukas Buckley (specialized master’s – business/finance), Christian Feliziani (sport industry), Tre Leclaire (sport industry), Nick Musci (finance), Evan Riss (finance) and Skylar Wahlund (accounting).

In order to be eligible, a student-athlete must be in at least his second year on campus and earn a 3.7 or better grade-point average during the 2019-20 academic year. Over the last three years, Buckeye lacrosse players have earned 21 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar awards – the most of any men’s lacrosse program in the conference.

Buckley earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar honors for the third time in his career while Barker, Feliziani, Leclaire, Musci, and Wahlund are all first-time honorees. Riss was a Distinguished Scholar last year as well. It also caps off another strong year academically for the Scarlet and Gray. Consider:

  • The team finished the spring semester with a grade-point average of 3.66
  • 85 percent of its roster – 40 student-athletes in all – were OSU Scholar-Athletes
  • Ohio State has achieved a higher GPA than the semester preceding it in eight of the last 10 semesters
  • The Buckeyes also led all conference lacrosse programs with 29 Academic All-Big Ten honorees
  • On Friday, the USILA announced that a program-record four players – Leclaire, Buckley, Ryan Terefenko and Joey Salisbury – were Scholar All-Americans

Ohio State led the conference with a record total of 164 honorees, surpassing the 131 recognized in 2018-19. This is the fifth consecutive year Ohio State has led the Big Ten in total recipients.