July 1, 2020

Seven Cross Country/Track Field Student-Athletes Are B1G distinguished Scholars


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Seven members of the women’s cross country/track and field teams have earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar honors for the 2019-20 academic year, the conference office announced today. To be eligible, a student-athlete must maintain a 3.70 or better grade-point average for the academic year.

The Buckeye honorees were:

  • Brittany Atkinson, a senior accounting major from Liberty Center, Ohio
  • Alexa Jankowsky, a senior architecture major from Shaker Heights, Ohio
  • Devon Leahy, a senior biology major from Westfield, Ind.
  • Abby Nichols, a senior speech and hearing sciences major from Kettering, Ohio
  • Sade Olatoye, a senior health sciences major from Dublin, Ohio
  • Alexus Pyles, a senior biology major from Clarksburg, Md.
  • Sarah Stanley, a real estate and urban analysis major from South Park, Pa.

Ohio State led all conference schools with a total of 164 distinguished scholars. Jankowsky was one of 26 Buckeye student-athletes who had a 4.0 grade-point average for the year.