U.S. Men’s Gymnastics Senior National Team will be selected from field of 42

COLUMBUS, Ohio The Ohio State men’s gymnastics team will be well represented at the 2009 Winter Cup Challenge, Thursday and Saturday, as seven Buckeyes will compete for a spot on the U.S. Men’s Gymnastics Senior National Team at the Las Vegas Sports Center in Las Vegas, Nev.

Head coach Miles Avery will travel cross country with seniors Jake Bateman (Kingsport, Tenn.), Pejman Ebrahimi (Encino, Calif.) and Eddie Hay (Butler, Pa.), junior Tai Lee (Orlando, Fla.), sophomore Brandon Wynn (Voorhees, N.J.), as well as freshmen Steven Spencer (Pleasanton, Calif.) and Philip Onorato (Plano, Texas).

The opening day of competition will feature two qualifying rounds with approximately 43 athletes in each division. The first section competes at 3 p.m. EST Thursday while the second round starts at 6 p.m. EST. The top 42 gymnasts, based on the points ranking system approved by the Men’s Program Committee, will advance to the finals, which begin at 9:30 p.m. EST Saturday.

Tickets go on sale Thursday morning at the Las Vegas Sports Center. One-day admission for all qualification sessions on Thursday is $20 per person and $12 per child/student. Tickets for the final session Saturday are $20 per person. An all-event pass with admission to all sessions, including the finals, may be purchased for $40 per adult and $30 per child/student.

Seven gymnasts will be named to the U.S. Men’s Senior National Team based on the national team points ranking system from the Winter Cup Challenge, and one each will be selected by the Men’s Program Committee and men’s national team coordinator.

The six members of the 2008 U.S. Men’s Gymnastics Olympic Team can petition for spots, and the Men’s Program Committee will name additional members to the senior national team if any Olympic positions are unused. The 15 gymnasts named to the team will comprise the U.S. Men’s Senior National Team until the 2009 Visa Championships in August.

Ohio State 2009 Winter Cup Challenge Competitors
Pejman Ebrahimi, Encino, Calif.
Steven Spencer, Pleasanton, Calif.
Tai Lee, Orlando, Fla.
Brandon Wynn, Voorhees, N.J.
Eddie Hay, Butler, Pa.
Jake Bateman, Kingsport, Tenn.
Philip Onorato, Plano, Texas