June 6, 2018

Seth Kinker Named Finalist for Stopper of the Year


RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Superb Ohio State senior reliever Seth Kinker is one of five finalists for the 14th annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, members of the association announced Wednesday.

The five finalists, who helped their respective teams reach the 2018 NCAA Tournament, stand among the nation’s best relievers in the country. The finalist include Kinker, from Huntington, W. Va., senior Brooks Wilson from Stetson, freshman Chris Mauloni from Jacksonville, junior Michael Byrne from Florida and sophomore Jack Little from Stanford.

“Seth Kinker was our go to guy,” head coach Greg Beals said. “Kind of an old-school closer who got several three inning saves. It was an incredible luxury to have a guy like Seth at the back end of games.”

Kinker appeared in 30 games this season and went 6-2 with a 2.27 ERA with 15 saves. He struck out 60 and only walked five in 63.1 innings of work.

His 15 saves ranked third in single-season history and had 24 saves in his career, which is fourth in the OSU history. Kinker is the school-record holder for career appearances with 109. Here’s some notes and accomplishments Kinker’s year:

  • He was named a second team All-American last week by Collegiate Baseball, becoming the 51st in Ohio State history.
  • Kinker is a Senior CLASS Award Finalist, one of 10 in the country.
  • From Cabell-Midland High School, Kinker was named a second team All-Big Ten selection after leading the Big Ten during the regular season with a 1.62 ERA. His 15 saves is second-most in the league in 2018.
  • Kinker’s strikeout-to-walk ratio ranks first in the Big Ten and third in the country (12.00)
  • Had six three-inning saves in 2018 and was second on the team with six victories.
  • Becomes second Buckeye to be named to prestigious list since Jake Hale in 2009.

The NCBWA’s All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year’s recipient to be announced Saturday, June 16, at a news conference at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha at 10 a.m. (CT).