COLUMBUS, Ohio The eight seniors on the Ohio State women’s swimming and diving team came into their careers as scholar-athletes and they close their careers as OSU Scholar-Athletes. Wednesday at the OSU Scholar-Athlete Banquet, held at the spectacular new Ohio Union, all eight seniors on the team earned the academic honor once again, giving the group a combined 30 such honors in their four-year career.

Six are now four-time OSU Scholar-Athletes: Megan Alexander (education and human ecology), Farriss Blaskovits (biology) Chelsea Davis (physical therapy), Jill Lockhart (strategic communications), Haley Mitchell (business) and Colleen Schweitzer (allied medical professions). Sarah Ratica (physical therapy) and MaryAnn Wiser (social and behavioral sciences) are each three-time OSU Scholar-Athletes.

And adding to the academic integrity of this group is the fact that all eight were named to the Academic All-Big Ten Conference team for the 2009-10 school year.

A total of 25 swimmers and divers were honored at the Scholar-Athlete banquet, an impressive 71 percent of the 31-member team. Among those honored were six individuals who have received a perfect 4.0 grade point average at least one quarter so far this school year: Alexander, Blaskovits and Ratica; junior Samantha Cheverton; sophomore Catherine Eitel and freshman Lauren Massey.

Including the seniors, a total of sixteen swimmers and divers were named to this year’s Academic All-Big Ten team. The following is a complete list Ohio State’s 2009-10 Scholar-Athletes and Academic All-Big Ten honorees (asterisked).


Megan Alexander* – Education and human ecology

Farriss Blaskovits* – Biology

Chelsea Davis* – Physical therapy Jill Lockhart* – Strategic communications

Sr. Haley Mitchell* – Business

Sarah Ratica* – Physical therapy

Colleen Schweitzer* – Health sciences and health management

MaryAnn Wiser* – Speech and hearing sciences


Bianca Alvarez* – Social and behavioral sciences

Kristen Asman* – Education and human ecology

Samantha Cheverton* – Social and behavioral sciences

Shelby Gordon* – Business

Morgan Menzie* – Food, agricultural and environmental sciences


Catherine Eitel* – Biology

Erin Fawley* – Education and human ecology

Lisa Narum* – Education and human ecology


Jackie Brousseau – Social and behavioral sciences

Emily Creran – Education and human ecology

Megan Detro – Exploring

Evann Heidersbach – Exploring

Lauren Massey – Biology

Kelsey Moran – Social and behavioral sciences

Megan Nunan – Exploring

Angela Severn – Education and human ecology

Elisabeth Tavierne – Education and human ecology