May 21, 2020

Selina Vickery Named a Fergus Award Recipient


FacebookTwitter | Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Selina Vickery, a member of the Ohio State women’s soccer team and 2020 graduate, has been awarded the athletics department’s Corwin A. Fergus Memorial Award.

Fergus scholars are male or female student-athletes who have excelled in athletics, achieved academically (3.00 GPA minimum), demonstrated positive qualities of character and citizenship and shown potential for success in a graduate or professional program. Established in 1967, the award is given in memory of Corwin A. Fergus, a member of the Ohio State football team (1912-14), a graduate of the Ohio State School of Law and later a successful businessman. The award reflects his strong commitment to the pursuit of academic and athletic excellence and his positive contributions to society. The $5,000 postgraduate scholarships, which each are renewable for up to three years, can be utilized for graduate study or professional programs at Ohio State.

Vickery, who saw time in five matches for the Buckeyes, is a three-time OSU Scholar-Athlete, a two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and was named a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar in 2019. She began lab work at The James Cancer Center and Solove Research Institute and interned with the hospital as a Pelotonia fellow this past summer. Vickery plans on beginning medical school at Ohio State in the fall.