April 4, 2018

Sean Romeo Wins NCAA Elite 90 Award


SAINT PAUL, Minn. – Sean Romeo, a junior goalie on the Ohio State men’s hockey team, is the recipient of the Elite 90 award for the 2018 NCAA Division Men’s Hockey Championship.

Romeo, a finance major, was presented with the award during the men’s hockey Frozen Four reception Wednesday evening in Saint Paul, Minn.

The Elite 90, an award founded by the NCAA, recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the national championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. The Elite 90 is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA’s championships.

Eligible student-athletes are sophomores or above who have participated in their sport for at least two years with their school. They must be an active member of the team, traveling and a designated member of the squad size at the championship. All ties are broken by the number of credits completed.

For more information on the Elite 90 award winners, log on to NCAA.com/elite-90.

Romeo, a Second Team All-Big Ten selection, has backstopped the Buckeyes to the second Frozen Four appearance in program history (and first since 1998). The Most Outstanding Player of the Midwest Regional, he is in the Top 12 in the NCAA with a 2.06 goals-against average and .927 save percentage. His 22 wins this year are tied for the second-most in program history.

He is an Academic All-Big Ten selection and an Ohio State Scholar-Athlete. Romeo and 19 of his teammates will be recognized at the Ohio State Scholar-Athlete Dinner Monday.

Jacyn Reeves of the Ohio State women’s hockey team received the Elite 90 award during their trip to the Frozen Four in Minneapolis last month.

The No. 1 seed Buckeyes (26-9-5) take on No. 3 Minnesota Duluth in the Frozen Four semifinals at 6 p.m. ET Thursday in the Xcel Energy Center in Saint Paul, Minn. ESPN2, Watch ESPN and TSN Go will have the television coverage, with the radio broadcast on Ohio State radio 1460 AM and Westwood One, with both broadcasts available on the TuneIn app.