Feb. 22, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Logan Schuss, a senior co-captain and attackman on the Ohio state men’s lacrosse team, has been named to the 2013 Tewaaraton Award watch list, released today by the Tewaaraton Foundation. The list includes the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlights the early contenders for the 2013 Tewaaraton Award.

Schuss is a three-time first team All-ECAC selection, the 2012 ECAC Offensive Player of the Year and the 2010 ECAC Rookie of the Year. He was a USILA third team All-American in 2012 and an honorable mention selection in 2010. A physical education major, Schuss is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten and ECAC All-Academic selection and a three-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete.

A native of Ladner, British Columbia, Schuss ranks third in Ohio State history with 178 points and 111 goals, ranking third among current NCAA players in career points and goals. This season, Schuss, the reigning ECAC Offensive Player of the Week and the ECAC Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, has a league-best 13 points, including nine goals. He has a point in each of his 47 games played for the Scarlet and Gray, with multiple points in all but three outings. His point streak is tied for the second-longest current streak among Division I players.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation. Committees will make additions to these lists as the season progresses and athletes earn a spot alongside these elite players. Both lists will be narrowed to 25 men’s and women’s nominees in late April. In mid-May, five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced. These finalists will be invited to Washington, D.C. for the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, May 30 at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian.