April 14, 2014

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Tonight marks the annual Ohio State Athletics Scholar-Athlete Dinner, where 21 members of the men’s lacrosse team will be recognized as Ohio State Scholar-Athletes. In addition, men’s lacrosse three-time All-American Logan Schussis one of five finalists for the prestigious Big Ten Medal of Honor.

The Big Ten, the nation’s oldest collegiate conference, commemorates the 100th anniversary of the Big Ten Medal of Honor this year. The conference’s most exclusive award was the first of its kind in intercollegiate athletics to recognize academic and athletic excellence. The Big Ten Medal of Honor was first awarded in 1915 to one student-athlete from the graduating class of each university who had “attained the greatest proficiency in athletics and scholastic work.” Big Ten schools currently feature more than 8,200 student-athletes, but only 24 earn this prestigious award on an annual basis. In the 99 years of the Medal of Honor, more than 1,300 student-athletes have earned this distinction. Two members of the Ohio State men’s lacrosse program have received the award – Roger Beck in 1962 and Kevin Stephan in 2002.

“We are very proud Logan has been recognized as an outstanding student and athlete,” Nick Myers, Ohio State head coach, said. “Logan is one of finest young men I have had the privilege of coaching. He was a leader on field and in the community here at Ohio State. He played a major role in helping us break new ground as a program in 2013 while becoming the program’s all-time leading scorer. He has a very bright future and I am certain he will pass on the incredible passion he has for lacrosse to many more young men during his career as a teacher and coach.”

Schuss, from Ladner, British Columbia, is the first three-time USILA All-American and four-time all-conference selection in Ohio State history. He ended his career as the team’s all-time leader in goals (146, 20 more than second place) and is second all-time with 237 points. The ECAC Offensive Player of the Year in both 2012 and ’13 and the league’s 2010 Rookie of the Year, he captained the Buckeyes to the ECAC tournament title and a spot in the NCAA quarterfinals as a senior captain in 2013. As a senior, he was named a second team All-American, becoming the first Buckeye to be named to the first or second team more than once, after posting a career-high 44 goals, 28 assists and 72 points. Schuss has gone on to play professionally both in the indoor NLL, where he was the No. 1 overall draft pick, and in the outdoor MLL, where he was the Ohio Machine Rookie of the Year. A USILA Scholar All-American, Ohio State Scholar-Athlete, Academic All-Big Ten and ECAC All-Academic Team honoree, Schuss is planning a career teaching at the secondary level. WATCH: Schuss Medal of Honor finalist video

Tonight, seniors Joe Meurer (finance) and Jake Sharick (communication) will receive their fourth scholar-athlete honor. Juniors Ryan Borcherding (logistics management), Turner Evans (psychology) and Evan Mulchrone (marketing) and senior transfer Nick Diegel (physical education) will be recognized for the third time. Sophomores Carter Brown (finance), Robby Haus (exploration) and Tyler Pfister (communication), juniors Kevin Duffy (consumer and family financial services) and Rick Lewis (communications) and senior transfer Scott Spencer (molecular genetics) all are now two-time Ohio State Scholar-Athletes. Freshmen Lucas Bailey (arts and sciences), Sean Giampietro (exploration), Johnny Pearson (communication), Danny Simonetti (communication), Brian Ward (management and industry exploration) and Jake Withers (economics), sophomore Kacy Kapinos (health sciences program), sophomore transfer Gordie Koerber (sport industry) and junior Cameron Stephens(sustainable plant systems) will all be honored for the first time.

The Buckeyes, who have won their last three games and four of the last five, will be back on the lacrosse field Saturday, closing their home regular season schedule at 1 p.m. vs. Air Force in Ohio Stadium. The members of the senior class will be recognized pregame.