May 1, 2017

School-Record Five Buckeyes Earn All-America Recognition


May 1, 2017


COLUMBUS, Ohio — Five members of the Ohio State University men’s volleyball team received 2017 American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-America laurels on Monday (May 1). First Team selections, Miles Johnson and Nicolas Szerszen, are joined by Christy Blough (Second Team), Gabriel Domecus (Honorable Mention) and Driss Guessous (Honorable Mention).

Blough, Domecus, Johnson and Szerszen all earned repeat distinctions from last season’s NCAA-Championship-winning campaign while Guessous picks up the ’17 honors after being named to the Second Team in 2014. The five-player group is the largest in Ohio State history, breaking the previous mark of four honorees set just a year ago in 2016.

TJ DeFalco, Long Beach State
Jennings Franciskovic, Hawaii
Jeff Jendryk, Loyola
Miles Johnson, Ohio State
Jake Langlois, BYU
Amir Lugo-Rodriguez, Long Beach State
Andrew Sato, Long Beach State
Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State
Josh Tuaniga, Long Beach State
Stijn van Tilburg, Hawaii

Jake Arntiz, UCLA
Christy Blough, Ohio State
Ryan Coenen, Lewis
Kyle Ensing, Long Beach State
Jabarry Goodridge, NJIT
Tamir Herschko, UC Irvine
Chris Nugent, Penn State
Michael Saeta, UC Irvine
Larry Tuileta, Hawaii
Lucas Yoder, USC

Joshua Ayzenberg, Sacred Heart
Andy Benesh, USC
Gabriel Domecus, Ohio State
Leo Durkin, BYU
Evan Enriques, Stanford
Arvis Greene, CSUN
Driss Guessous, Ohio State
Thomas Hodges, UC Irvine
Dillon Hoffman, UC Irvine
Price Jarman, BYU
Vasilis Mandilaris, Barton
Calvin Mende, Penn State
Hendrik Mol, Hawaii
Mitch Perinar, Lewis
Kevin Rakestraw, Stanford
Brenden Sander, BYU
Michael Simmons, Lewis
Jeff Sprayberry, King
Scott Stadick, UC Irvine
Mitch Stahl, UCLA
Matt Szews, Ball State
Matt Walsh, Ball State
David Wieczorek, Pepperdine
Matt Yoshimoto, Lewis
Bryce Yould, Long Beach State

The 2017 selections were made by the AVCA Division I-II Men’s Volleyball All-America Committee: chairperson Dan Friend (Lewis); Jay Hosack (George Mason), Danny Goncalves (NJIT), Mike Rumbaugh (Saint Francis), Ryan Perotte (Fort Wayne), Mark Hulse (Loyola-Chicago), Alan Knipe (Long Beach State), Charlie Wade (Hawai’i), Jeff Nygaard (USC), David Heller (Mount Olive), Brandon Skweres (Limestone), Ryan Booher (King).