Oct. 19, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s swimming team returned to McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion for its annual Scarlet and Gray intrasquad meet Friday evening. Used as a dress rehearsal for the upcoming season, the Scarlet defeated the Gray, 149-108.

Junior Phoebe Cater led the way for scarlet with three individual wins. The Sydney, Australia native, touched first in the 50, 100 and 200 freestyle events. Freshman Annie Lazor also had an impressive showing; recording wins in the 100 breaststroke and 100 butterfly.

“We have a really big group of freshmen, so just to be able to do a dry run with a 16-event format is a good experience,” head coach Bill Dorenkott. “I thought we competed really well, but we have to build on today.”

Fourteen newcomers swam for the first time in a collegiate environment in front of fans and family.

“I think there’s a bit of shock the first time,” Dorenkott said. “One in terms of how fast our kids can swim in season under a pretty good training load, as well as having an understanding of the sense of urgency that is needed everyday – in season and in training.”

The meet will also be helpful for the Buckeye coaching staff of Dorenkott and first-year assistant Liz Hinkleman to learn more about their 2012-13 squad.

“Everything is a build up for February and March, for Big Tens and NCAAs,” Dorenkott said. “We will go back and look at the video as well as the splits. Also, we will take a look at our weaknesses and look to correct anywhere there is an opportunity for us to get better.”

The scarlet, however, didn’t take home every event. The gray 200 medley relay team of Kelsey Moran, Ashley Vance, Alex Norris and Megan Detro placed first, as well as junior Kelly Ann Baird in the 1000 freestyle.

Ohio State Event Results
Gray wins:
200 medley relay – Moran, Vance, Norris, Detro; 1000 freestyle – Baird; 500 freestyle – Norris
Scarlet wins: 200 freestyle – Cater; 100 backstroke – Creran; 100 breaststroke – Lazor; 200 butterfly – Draves; 100 freestyle – Cater; 50 freestyle – Cater; 200 backstroke – Creran; 200 breaststroke – Lazor; 100 butterfly – Draves; 200 IM – Severn