April 10, 2014

2014 Spring Game Rosters

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Coach Urban Meyer and his coaching staff developed the rosters for the 2014 LiFE Sports Spring Game, Presented by Nationwide, and the makeup of each team is in line with Meyer’s thoughts Wednesday that he wanted the team’s best players to be competing against each other.

Third-year sophomore Cardale Jones will quarterback the scarlet team with red-shirt freshman J.T. Barrettcalling signals for the gray team.

Jones’ cache of offensive weapons is highlighted by running backs Ezekiel Elliott and Curtis Samuel and receivers Devin Smith, Dontre Wilson and Corey Smith.

The scarlet offensive line, which includes Taylor Decker, Darryl Baldwin, Jacoby Boren and Antonio Underwood, will battle against a gray front line that includes Noah Spence, Adolphus Washington and Tommy Schutt.

Barrett will work with a skill set that includes running backs Bri’onte Dunn and Warren Ball, receivers Michael Thomas and Johnny Dixon, and tight end Nick Vannett. The Gray offensive line includes Pat Elflein, Billy Price and Kyle Dodson while the scarlet defensive line includes Joey Bosa and Michael Bennett.

The scarlet linebacker corps includes Curtis Grant and Chris Worley with its secondary featuring Eli Apple and Ron Tanner.

Joshua Perry, Raekwon McMillan and Darron Lee are the gray linebackers with the secondary including Tyvis Powell, Cam Burrows and Armani Reeves.

Team coaches
The scarlet team will be coached by assistant head coach for offense/running backs coach Stan Drayton with offensive coordinator/quarterbacks coach Tom Herman, tight ends/fullbacks coach Tim Hinton, co-defensive coordinator/safeties coach Chris Ash and assistant head coach/defensive line coach Larry Johnson assisting.

Team gray is led by cornerbacks coach Kerry Coombs with co-offensive coordinator/offensive line coach Ed Warinner, receivers coach Zach Smith and defensive coordinator Luke Fickellassisting.

Game format
The game will feature four 10-minute quarters with clock stoppages throughout the first half and a running clock in the second half. There will be no kickoffs but Cameron Johnstonwill be punting under live conditions with no returns.

Honorary captains
Representing the gray team as honorary captain for the coin toss will be interim president of The Ohio State University, Dr. Joseph A. Alutto. And representing the scarlet team will be its honorary captain: vice president for student life Dr. Javaune Adams-Gaston.