COLUMBUS, Ohio Five members of the Ohio State softball team earned First or Second-Team All-Big Ten honors, announced Wednesday by the conference office on the eve of the opening games of the 2009 NCAA Regional at New Buckeye Field. Sophomore Dee Dee Hillman was the lone first-team representative, following up a third-team appearance as a freshman, while senior Kim Reeder, juniors Whitney Cooper and Sam Marder and freshman Alicia Herron each earned spot on the second team.

“Dee Dee put up some very strong numbers during conference play this year,” head coach Linda Kalafatis said. “She stepped up when she needed to and for that, she is truly deserving of this honor. I think having five total selections is a testament to all that the team has accomplished this season, in the Big Ten and beyond, and has the potential to accomplish in the postseason. I am very proud of all of our Big Ten selections.”

Hillman batted .373 through 20 Big Ten games, taking 23 total bases and going a perfect 7-for-7 on stolen base attempts. Batting in the leadoff spot in 14 of those games, the Defiance, Ohio, native was .370 and went on to score 11 runs.

With a team-best .385 batting average in conference action, Cooper led the Buckeyes in hits (25) and runs scored (17) in 20 Big Ten games. This is the first all-conference nod for the second baseman from Bairstow, Calif.  This, too, is the first Big Ten accolade for Reeder, who earned Big Ten pitcher of the week honors three times during the 2009 season and was named the program’s first USA Softball national player of the week in February. She is currently two wins shy of tying the all-time wins record at Ohio State and one shutout away from matching the single-season record.

Marder and Herron join Cooper and Reeder on the second team after breaking nearly every offensive record in program history. Marder, who was a first-team selection in 2007 and 08, broke the school records for single-season and career homeruns with 18 and 42, respectively, after long shattering the all-time walks record. As a freshman, Herron has snapped the rookie homer mark with 12 this season and is currently fourth on the season RBI charts with 45.

Reeder adds the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award to her list of accolades. With one selection from every conference school, the student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The student-athletes also must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Honorees for softball are: Illinois’ Brooke Buzard, Indiana’s Julie DiNallo, Iowa’s Katie Brown, Michigan’s Teddi Ewing, Michigan State’s Gina Mondo, Minnesota’s Bethany Wolvington, Northwestern’s Jessica Rigas, Ohio State’s Kim Reeder, Penn State’s Sam Hovanec, Purdue’s Alicia Spack and Wisconsin’s Theresa Boruta.

These 11 student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

Adrienne Monka, Fr., NU 1B
Danielle Zymkowitz, So., ILL  2B
Tammy Williams, Sr., NU  SS
*Maggie Viefhaus, Jr., MICH  3B
Colleen McGlaughlin, Sr., IOWA  OF
Angela Findlay, Jr., MICH  OF
Dee Dee Hillman, So., OSU  OF
Roya St. Clair, Jr., MICH  C
Amanda Chidester, Fr., MICH  UT
Katrina Ross, Sr., ILL  DP
Brittany Weil, Sr., IOWA  P
*Nikki Nemitz, Jr., MICH  P

Katie Brown, Jr., IOWA  1B
Whitney Cooper, Jr., OSU  2B
Alicia Herron, Fr., OSU  SS
Liane Horiuchi, Jr., PUR  3B
Hope Howell, Jr., ILL  OF
Bree Evans, Fr., MICH  OF
Ashley Griffith, Jr., PSU  OF
Sam Marder, Jr., OSU  C
Molly Garst, Fr., PUR  UT
Michelle Batts, So., NU  DP
Briana Hassett, Sr., MINN  P
Kim Reeder, Sr., OSU  P

Kelley Wedel, Fr., ILL  3B
Hollie Pinchback, So., ILL  OF
Emily Bergeson, Sr., IND  SS
Sara Olson, So., IND  UT
Katie Keim, Fr., IOWA  3B
Liz Watkins, Fr., IOWA  C
Malisa Barnes, So., MINN  1B
Nicole Pauly, Jr., NU  2B
Lisa Akamine, Fr., PSU  DP
Jenna Alexander, Jr., PUR  C
Suzie Rzegocki, So., PUR  P
Jennifer Krueger, So., WIS  OF

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Tammy Williams, Northwestern
PITCHER OF THE YEAR: *Nikki Nemitz, Michigan
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Adrienne Monka, Northwestern
COACH OF THE YEAR: Carol Hutchins, Michigan