April 25, 2019

Ryan Terefenko Named a 2019 Tewaaraton Nominee


RELATED INFO: 2019 Schedule/Results | 2019 Stats | 2019 Roster | Purchase Tickets | Big Ten Lacrosse | 11th Man Club | Men’s Lacrosse Homepage | Follow the Buckeyes on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram

COLUMBUS – Junior short stick defensive midfielder Ryan Terefenko is one of 25 nominees for the Tewaaraton Award, the Tewaaraton Foundation announced on Thursday.

From its list of nominees, the Tewaaraton Foundation will announce its finalists in May. They will be invited to the 19th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in Washington, D.C. The Tewaaraton Award is the highest individual honor presented in college lacrosse. It goes annually to the nation’s top player on both the men’s and women’s side.

Terefenko, an OSU Scholar-Athlete who is majoring in sport industry, is currently third on the team with 31 ground balls and also has two caused turnovers from his defensive midfield position. A two-way middle, he’s also scored four goals and has four assists for eight total points. With his help, the Ohio State defense has held seven of its 11 opponents to 10 goals or less.

Selected as a midseason All-American by Inside Lacrosse, Terefenko has played in all 11 games this season. A veteran of 44 career games, Terefenko has 104 ground balls, 13 caused turnovers, 13 goals and 15 assists to his credit. He’s twice been a USILA All-American – honorable mention in 2017 and third team in 2018.

This summer, Terefenko will take part in Huntington Bucks Go Pro 1.0 and work with coaching staffs from around the Athletics Department. The program – part of the Eugene D. Smith Leadership Institute – runs eight weeks in June and July and allows student-athletes to gain important hands-on professional experience.

The Buckeyes have had a Tewaaraton Award nominee in each of the last three seasons – Terefenko (2019), Ben Randall (2018) and Jake Withers (2017).