April 29, 2006

Complete Resukts in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The fifth-ranked Ohio State rowing team won the 2006 Big Ten Championships Saturday at Lake Phalen in St. Paul, Minn., for the program’s second conference title. Both the first and second varsity eight boats, seeded No. 1 in their respective races, won their Grand Finals and the No. 2-seeded second varsity four placed second in its Grand Final as the Buckeyes led the point standings throughout the event.

Ohio State adds the 2006 trophy to its championship from 2002. The Buckeyes are just the second team, along with Michigan, to hold more than one Big Ten rowing championship. OSU finished with 130 points. Host school Minnesota was second with 121 points and Michigan State took third at 113.

The competition was moved up by an hour, with the heat races beginning at 7 a.m. (CT) instead of the scheduled 8 a.m. start time, because of rainy weather conditions. The finals, which were to begin at noon, started at 9 a.m., with the boats flipping their racing order. The first varsity eight raced first with the second novice eight concluding the event.

“I am thrilled for the athletes,” Andy Teitelbaum, Ohio State head coach said. “They did a great job in really adverse conditions, particularly both varsity eight boats and the second varsity four. They came through and performed great in their races. Everyone did a fantastic job.” The first varsity eight boat of Charlott Goldstein (Fr., Berlin, Germany), Jana Schiller (Sr., Marquardt, Germany), Susanne Herbrand (Fr., Magdeburg, Germany), Ninett Kossowsky (Sr., Leipzig, Germany), Gabriele Albertaviciute (So., Vilnius, Lithuania), Beth Tompkins (Sr., Westerville, Ohio), Annabelle Fago (Jr., Giessen, Germany), Jessica Shepherd (Jr., Richmond, Ohio) and coxswain Colleen Saville (Fr., Saratoga Springs, N.Y.) opened the Grand Final races by winning with a time of 6:46.2, 1.6 seconds ahead of second-place Michigan.

The second varsity eight followed with a victory in their Grand Final as well. The boat of Livania Tinelli (Fr., Rome, Italy), Andrea Dymalski (So., Bremen, Germany), Katie Poling (Sr., Elyria, Ohio), Zuzanna Trzcinska (Fr., Ilawa, Poland), Simone Haubner (So., Leipzig, Germany), Justine Mahler (Jr., Cincinnati, Ohio), Briony Clare (Jr., Sydney, Australia), Olga Grigorieva (Sr., Moscow, Russia) and coxswain Sarah Obee (Sr., Toledo, Ohio), clocked in at 6:55.0 to win the event and edge Michigan State by one second.

The second varsity four also raced in its Grand Final, finishing second to Minnesota. Katie Ignasiak (Jr., Sylvania, Ohio), Mackenzie Hiltbrand (Jr., Upper Arlington, Ohio), Susan Cohen (Sr., Milford, Conn.), Katie Machingo (Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio) and coxswain Katie McFarland (So., Elyria, Ohio) finished with a time of 8:04.6 to the Gophers’ 8:01.9.

The first varsity four finished first in its Petite Final with a time of 8:05.0. The boat, which included Patricia Goodeman (Jr., Waterville, Ohio), Mary Sheehan (Jr., Johnstown, Pa.), Peta-Leigh Dakyns (Fr., Johannesburg, South Africa), Giulia Benedetti (Jr., Columbus, Ohio) and coxswain Susie Wilson (Fredericktown, Ohio), cruised to first place, 37.7 seconds ahead of Iowa in second at 8:42.7.

Ohio State also competed in the Petite Finals of the first and second novice eight. The Buckeyes finished third in the first novice eight race with a time of 7:55.2. OSU then took second in the second novice eight race, clocking in at 8:33.7.

The Buckeyes will next compete May 13-14 at the South/Central Region Championships in Oak Ridge, Tenn. Ohio State, the three-time defending Central Region champ, is looking for its fourth title in as many seasons.

“Nobody has won the Big Ten and Central Regions in the same year since 2001,” Teitelbaum said. “Obviously, it’s extremely difficult to come off the emotion of winning Big Tens and follow with a repeat performance regionals. It is going to be quite a challenge because everyone is a challenger, as we saw here today.”

2006 Big Ten Championships Lake Phalen, St. Paul, Minn.

TEAM SCORE 1. Ohio State 130 2. Minnesota 121 3. Michigan State 113 4. Michigan 112 5. Wisconsin 88 6. Iowa 45 7. Indiana 34

FIRST VARSITY EIGHT Grand Final Time Points 1. Ohio State 6:46.2 63 2. Michigan 6:47.8 54 3. Minnesota 6:48.8 45 4. Michigan State 6:52.4 36 Petite Final Time Points 1. Wisconsin 6:56.3 27 2. Iowa 7:04.9 18 3. Indiana 7:19.6 9

SECOND VARSITY EIGHT Grand Final Time Points 1. Ohio State 6:55.0 42 2. Michigan State 6:56.0 36 3. Michigan 7:00.7 30 4. Minnesota 7:05.5 24 Petite Final Time Points 1. Wisconsin 6:59.6 18 2. Iowa 7:23.4 12 3. Indiana 7:39.9 6

FIRST VARSITY FOUR Grand Final Time Points 1. Minnesota 7:39.5 21 2. Michigan State 7:40.6 18 3. Wisconsin 7:50.1 15 4. Michigan 7:50.6 12 Petite Final Time Points 1. Ohio State 8:05.0 9 2. Iowa 8:42.7 6 3. Indiana 8:42.8 3

SECOND VARSITY FOUR Grand Final Time Points 1. Minnesota 8:01.9 14 2. Ohio State 8:04.6 12 3. Michigan State 8:05.7 10 4. Wisconsin 8:16.9 8 Petite Final Time Points 1. Michigan 8:20.9 6 2. Indiana 8:58.7 4 3. Iowa 9:14.6 2

FIRST NOVICE EIGHT Grand Final Time Points 1. Wisconsin 7:06.5 14 2. Indiana 7:15.1 12 3. Minnesota 7:18.6 10 4. Michigan State 7:22.5 8 Petite Final Time Points 1. Michigan 7:22.6 6 2. Iowa 7:34.3 4 3. Ohio State 7:55.2 2

SECOND NOVICE EIGHT Grand Final Time Points 1. Minnesota 7:21.0 7 2. Wisconsin 7:25.1 6 3. Michigan State 7:33.4 5 4. Michigan 7:38.3 4 Petite Final Time Points 1. Iowa 7:37.8 3 2. Ohio State 8:33.7 2