No. 14 Ohio State
Iowa, Indiana, Wisconsin
9 a.m., Saturday
Griggs Reservoir
Columbus, Ohio

Probable Lineups
April 19, 2008

First Varsity Eight (from bow)
Claudia Wurzel
Cleonice Renzetti
Mary Sheehan
Tess Prescott
Gabriele Albertaviciute
Sara Wallace
Peta-Leigh Dakyns
Katie Flarida
Coxswain Kate Hanseman

Second Varsity Eight (from bow)
Simone Haubner
Carolin Helmholz
Patricia Goodeman
Zuzanna Trzcinska
Nora Franzen
Charlott Goldstein
Anniken Ellingsen
Susanne Herbrand
Coxswain Erika Benford

First Varsity Four (from bow) 
Ingrid Aasaaren
Jackie Ruetenik
Caroline McPherson
Andrea Dymalski
Coxswain Kristin DiJosie

Second Varsity Four (from bow)
Ashley Korfel
Sara Reardon
Erin Shropshire
Farrah Edwards
Coxswain Sam Getz

First Novice Eight (from bow)
Kyla Ferguson 
Kate Sweeney
Debra Leitch
Alicia Caldwell
Jessica Neiding
Jill Mohr
Lindsey Titus
Adrienne Eichenlaub
Coxswain Elena Reynolds
Second Novice Eight (from bow)
Aly Day
Melissa Sillanpaa
Ally Smith
Katie Rasfeld
Courtney Tooman
Bethany Harris
Danielle Ewart
Alissa Sullivan
Coxswain Regina Steigerwald, Mackenzie Pecor

Katie Burwell

April 19, 2008

               Lane 1      Lane 2         Lane 3

2 N8            
9 a.m.       OHIO STATE   WISCONSIN     IOWA                    
9:10 a.m.    IOWA         INDIANA             
9:20 a.m.    WISCONSIN    OHIO STATE  
9:30 a.m.    OHIO STATE   WISCONSIN                                                                                
9:40 a.m.    INDIANA      IOWA             
9:50 a.m.    WISCONSIN    OHIO STATE                           
10:00 a.m.   IOWA         INDIANA
10:10 a.m.   OHIO STATE   WISCONSIN                    
10:20 a.m.   INDIANA      IOWA
10:30 a.m.   WISCONSIN    OHIO STATE  


1 p.m.       IOWA         OHIO STATE     WISCONSIN   
1:10 p.m.    INDIANA      WISCONSIN           
1:20 p.m.    OHIO STATE   IOWA  
1:30 p.m.    WISCONSIN    OHIO STATE                                      
1:40 p.m.    INDIANA      WISCONSIN 
1:50 p.m.    IOWA         OHIO STATE          
2:00 p.m.    WISCONSIN    INDIANA
2:10 p.m.    OHIO STATE   IOWA
2:20 p.m.    INDIANA      WISCONSIN
2:30 p.m.    IOWA         OHIO STATE       


COLUMBUS, Ohio Ohio State rowing will host Iowa, Indiana and Wisconsin in the Big Ten Challenge on April 19, at Griggs Reservoir, in Columbus, Ohio with races beginning at 9 a.m. This will be the final home regatta for nine Buckeye seniors – Gabriele Albertaviciute, Andrea Dymalski, Patricia Goodeman, Kate Hanseman, Simone Haubner, Ashley Korfel, Lauren Lederer, Jackie Ruetenik and Mary Sheehan.

Ohio State Hosts Bucknell, No. 15 Michigan and No. 7 Tennessee
The Second Varsity Four and Eight squads remained undefeated on the season after 11th-ranked Ohio State hosted Bucknell, No. 15 Michigan and No. 9 Tennessee April 12 at Griggs Reservoir in Columbus, Ohio.

The Second Varsity Eight continues its undefeated season, moving to 8-0. Ohio State defeated Tennessee, Michigan and Bucknell. The Buckeyes finished 25.2 seconds ahead of Bucknell, who finished last in the heat.
The Second Varsity Four finished at 8:18.4, defeating Michigan, Tennessee and Bucknell. The boat advanced its record to 5-0 on the season.

The Buckeyes’ First Varsity Eight (2-5) lost to Michigan and Tennessee. Michigan finished first before Tennessee, while Ohio State clocked in after Tennessee at 6:53.4, five seconds after Michigan.

Ohio State fell to Michigan, but defeated Bucknell and Tennessee in the First Varsity Four race. The boat is now 4-4 this season.

The Scarlet and Gray also raced two novice boats. The First (1-3) and Second (2-2) Novice crews faired well on the afternoon with each boat earning second place.

No. 11 Ohio State
vs. Bucknell, No. 15 Michigan, No. 7 Tennessee
April 12, 2008
Griggs Reservoir Columbus, Ohio

Second Novice Eight
1. Michigan 8:04.5
2. Ohio State 8:13.5
3. Bucknell 8:22.2

First Novice Eight
1. Michigan 7:29.5
2. Ohio State 7:40.2
3. Bucknell 7:40.7

Second Varsity Four
1. Ohio State 8:18.4
2. Michigan 8:22.1
3. Tennessee 8:31.9
4. Bucknell 8:48.8

First Varsity Four
1. Michigan 8:06.2
2. Ohio State 8:16.8
3. Bucknell 8:22.7
4. Tennessee 8:27.9

Second Varsity Eight
1. Ohio State 6:56.1
2. Tennessee 7:03.2
3. Michigan 7:12.2
4. Bucknell 7:21.3

First Varsity Eight
1. Michigan 6:47.9
2. Tennessee 6:49.4
3. Ohio State 6:53.4

The Competition

The Hawkeyes’ First Varsity Eight garnered Big Ten Boat of the Week honors Tuesday after defeating George Washington, Navy and St. Joseph’s at the George Washington Invitational April 12.

Iowa competed against then No. 12 Minnesota on the Mississippi River April 6. The First Varsity Eight went 2-2, while both the Second Varsity Eight and First Varsity Four went 0-4 against the Gophers.

The Hoosiers came in second at the State of Indiana championships April 13. Indiana fell to then No. 16 Notre Dame, but defeated Purdue at Eagle Creek Park, Ind.

Indiana traveled April 6, to East Lansing, Mich,, to compete against Michigan State, Miami (Fla.) and Notre Dame. The Hoosiers Varsity Eight fell to the Hurricanes and the then-ranked No. 8 Spartans.

In the Virginia Invitational, Wisconsin’s First Varsity Four, Second Varsity Eight and First Varsity Eight defeated Columbia April 13 at Lake Monticello, Va.

The Badgers also competed in the Longhorn Invitational, defeating Duke, Tulsa, Texas, Texas Crew and Iowa March 23.

Weekend Weather
There is a 40 percent chance of thunderstorms Saturday. The temperature is expected to reach a high of 63 degrees with southern winds at 11 mph.

Buckeyes Highlighted in The Columbus Dispatch
Head coach Andy Teitelbaum and members of the nationally-ranked rowing team was featured in The Columbus Dispatch Weekender Thursday. Teitelbaum discusses how Buckeye rowing team is the largest women’s varsity sport at Ohio State, the recruiting process and the common profile of athletes who make the best rowers. 
Co-captain, Mary Sheehan – a member of the undefeated Second Varsity Eight – also talks about how she went from being just the average Ohio State freshman, to a scholarship athlete competing in the NCAA championships.

Sara Wallace Featured in Dayton Daily News
Sara Wallace was featured in an article in the Dayton Daily News. This season, Wallace is a member of the undefeated Second Varsity Eight (8-0). However, this Saturday, she will row in the First Varsity Eight when Ohio State hosts the Big Ten Challenge at Griggs Reservoir. 

In the article, the native of Lebanon, Ohio, discusses what it was like to go from having little competitive rowing experience to becoming the 2007 Ohio State Novice of the Year and competing in the NCAA championships.

Kirsch Inducted into OSU Athletics Hall of Fame
Last September, Connie Kirsch (1998-2002) became the first rower to be inducted into the Ohio State Athletics Hall of Fame. She helped the Buckeyes earn their first Big Ten Championship in 2002. She was part of the First Varsity Eight that won the grand final and was named Big Ten Co-Rower of the year, a first in program history. That same varsity eight squad took first in the Central Region championship grand final and they finished the season with a then-program best fourth-place finish at the NCAA championships.
Kirsch’s individual accomplishments include earning first-team All-America honors in 2002 to contribute to her second-team honors in 2000 and 2001. She also was a three-time first-team All-Big Ten and All-Central Region selection in 2000, 2001 and 2002. Kirsch was an Academic All-Big Ten selection in 2001 and 2002, as well as a three-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete.

Ohio State will travel to Ann Arbor, Mich., May 3 for the Big Ten championships.