December 12, 2016

ROW: Teitelbaum Named Joy of Sculling Conference Women’s Coach of the Year


Dec. 12, 2016

Columbus, Ohio – Head women’s rowing coach Andy Teitelbaum was named the Joy of Sculling Conference Women’s Coach of the Year Saturday evening in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

“It’s always humbling to be recognized individually for the work and contribution of so many people that make our performance possible,” Teitelbaum said. “It’s a true honor to have the work of so many recognized.”

Teitelbaum, who has been at the helm since the program’s inception in 1995, helped lead the Buckeyes to a second-place team finish at the 2016 NCAA Championships. The Scarlet and Gray also captured their fourth-straight Big Ten Championship with 174 points; Teitelbaum now has seven Big Ten conference titles, which is the most in Big Ten history.

Ohio State had four women – Sarah Asad, Sarah Davis, Catherine Shields and Stephanie Williams – named to the 2016 Division I Pocock First Team. All four of those women were members of the First Varsity Eight, which won a national title and finished the season with an outstanding record of 46-2; it was the third-straight season that the First Varsity Eight claimed a national title.

In addition to being named 2016 Pocock All-Americans, Shields, Williams, Davis and Asad were named First Team All-Region by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association.

Teitelbaum has been a trendsetter in his time as head coach, making Ohio State one of just four programs (Brown, Princeton and Washington) to qualify for the NCAA Championships in 17 consecutive seasons. A native of Plainview, N.Y., Teitelbaum helped the Buckeyes secure three straight nationals titles from 2013-15.

The Joy of Sculling Conference is in its 24th year, and it features speeches and workshop sessions from prominent rowing coaches. Teitelbaum gave presentations at this year’s event on extreme ownership and leadership obstacles.