COLUMBUS, Ohio After completing a successful run at the Big Ten championships, the Ohio State rowing team will look to take its momentum South for the Aramark South/Central Region Championships Saturday and Sunday at Melton Hill Lake in Oak Ridge, Tenn.

The Buckeyes will make a bid for their sixth regional title in seven years after winning team championships for five consecutive seasons from 2003-2007.

The First Varsity Eight is No. 8 in the latest CRCA/USRowing poll released May 13. The Buckeyes received 322 points following their third-place finish in the Grand Final of the Big Ten championships May 2.

It is a championship Ohio State has dominated and that is not a small feat considering the competition it faces in the Aramark South/Central Region Sprints. In the Central Region, where 12 programs are vying for the top spot and an automatic bid to the NCAA championships, the Buckeyes staked their claim to the title for five consecutive years from 2003-2007. After missing out on its opportunity to win its sixth-straight team title last year, the Scarlet and Gray hopes to bring the championship trophy back to Columbus in 2009.

Nonetheless, in 2008, Ohio State raced impressively as it finished second in the Central Region and third overall. The Second Varsity Eight led the team with a Grand Final win, the crew’s second regional win in program history (2006). In all, Ohio State owns 15 Grand Final titles from the South/Central Region Sprints.

For the second time in Ohio State history, the First Varsity Four secured a Grand Final win at the 2009 Big Ten Championships May 2. Held at Griggs Reservoir in Columbus, Ohio, the 1V4 crossed the finish line in 7:00.14, outdistancing second-place finisher Wisconsin by almost three seconds (7:02.856). Minnesota  (7:04.328) was third in the Grand Final race, followed by Michigan (7:06.340).

The Buckeye 1V4 claimed their first Grand Final win since 2004 when it first won the title in Iowa City, Iowa.   

After entering the Big Ten championships winless, the Second Novice Eight not only garnered its first win of the season with a third-place finish in the first heat of the championships, but the crew went on to win the Petite Final for two more victories.
The 2N8 clocked in at 6:45.805, while Minnesota and Iowa finished in 6:47.151 and 6:52.069, respectively. 

The First and Second Varsity Eight, along with the First Varsity Four own solid records heading into the Aramark South/Central  Region Championships Saturday and Sunday. The 1V8 boasts a 9-5 overall record while the 2V8 has a 10-4 mark. The 1V4 will enter the races this weekend with an 11-3 ledger.

At the conclusion of the Big Ten championships, three Buckeyes were named to the all-conference teams. Senior co-captain Susanne Herbrand was a first-team selection. Fellow senior co-captain Peta-Leigh Dakyns and junior Charlott Goldstein were second-team honorees. Mandy Merritt was the team’s Sportsmanship Award recipient. 

Ohio State played host to the 2009 Big Ten Championships May 2 at Griggs Reservoir and took third on its home course.

The Buckeyes finished with 123 points, just three points shy of second-place Michigan. Michigan State won its second-consecutive championship with a total of 137 points.

Ohio State continued its streak of never finishing lower than third in the 10-year history of the Big Ten championships.

“We raced as well as we could today and it all came down to the First Varsity Eight,” Andy Teitelbaum,  

Ohio State head coach, said. “Those two Michigan boats were better than us today. As a group, they performed equal to or above their seeding, so you really can’t ask more from a group.”

After competing in the morning heats, the Buckeyes advanced to five of six Grand Finals, including all four varsity boats. Michigan and Wisconsin were the two teams to advance to the Grand Finals in all six events.

“If it takes a village to raise a child, then it takes a city to put on a Big Ten championship,” Teitelbaum said. “I am grateful to the university, city and all the kids because it was a great championship. I am glad the Big Ten Network came out today because I think we showed what a great venue we have and how exciting the sport is.”

Big Ten Championships
Griggs Reservoir, Columbus, Ohio
May 2, 2009
Team Standings Points
1. Michigan State 137
2. Michigan 126
3. Ohio State 123
4. Wisconsin 113
5. Iowa  60
6. Minnesota 59
7. Indiana 24

All six Ohio State boats recorded their fastest times of the season at the Big Ten championships May 2.

2009 Ohio State Season-High Race Times
First Varsity Eight
Second Varsity Eight 6:18.481
First Varsity Four 6:57.956
Second Varsity Four 7:07.424
First Novice Eight 6:32.812
Second Novice Eight   6:45.805

The 2009 Big Ten Rowing Championships will debut on the Big Ten Network at 3 p.m. May 17. The championships took place May 2 and will air on tape delay four more times following its May 17th broadcast.

2009 Big Ten Rowing Championships Broadcasts
9 p.m. May 17
2 a.m. May 18
5 p.m. May 18
8 p.m. May 20

Although the Buckeyes will be competing in warm conditions in Oak Ridge, Tenn., they may encounter a few thunderstorms according to Saturday calls for a 78-degree day with scattered thunderstorms, while Sunday is projected to be 75 degrees with a 30-percent chance of showers.

The Ohio State First Varsity Eight was named the Big Ten Conference Boat of the Week twice in 2009. The 1V8 earned the weekly honor in back-to-back weeks, April 7 and 14. Its first weekly laurel came after the 16th-ranked 1V8 upset the No. 7 Virginia crew in the ACC/Big Ten Duals, April 4 at Lake Monticello, Va. The crew, which included Claudia Wurzel, Sara Wallace, Ingrid Aasaaren, Katie Flarida, Claudia Herpertz, Susanne Herbrand, Johnna Burns, Ulrike Denker and coxswain Erika Benford beat the Cavaliers by 1.9 seconds, crossing the finish line in 6:33.4.

In Ohio State’s home opener, the First Varsity Eight earned a perfect 3-0 record. The Buckeyes competed against No. 8 Brown and Notre Dame in the morning session and crossed the line with a then-season-best time of 6:22.60, followed by Brown (6:28.67) and Notre Dame (6:31.54). In the afternoon session, Ohio State claimed a victory over Big Ten foe Indiana with a time of 6:22.90. Ohio State crossed the line just .30 seconds slower than its morning run, while Indiana came across at 6:40.63. That crew included Charlott Goldstein, Peta-Leigh Dakyns, Zuzanna Trzcinska, Herbrand, Flarida, Herpertz, Denker, Wurzel and Benford.

Along with Ohio State, which is No. 8 in the latest CRCA/USRowing rankings (May 13), six Big Ten Conference First Varsity Eight crews are ranked in the Top 20 poll, including three in the Top 10. Michigan State is No. 3 and received five first-place votes and Michigan is No. 6. Wisconsin is No. 14, while Iowa is No. 17 and Minnesota holds down the No. 19 spot. 

The 2009 Ohio State rowing roster consists of student-athletes from around the world with 39 members of the team hailing from seven countries, including the United States. Germany has the largest representation from outside the U.S. with five rowers. There also are Buckeyes from Norway (2), Italy (2), the United Kingdom (2), Poland and South Africa.

The U.S. Buckeyes represent seven different states. There are 19 Ohio natives, with athletes also from New Hampshire, New Jersey, Connecticut, Wisconsin, Florida and Pennsylvania.

Following action at the Aramark South/Central Region championships, Ohio State hopes it will be one of 12 teams selected to compete in the 2009 NCAA Championships May 29-31 in Camden, N.J. The NCAA selection show will air at 5 p.m. May 19 on

The Buckeyes have competed in the NCAA championships as a team for nine consecutive seasons. Only four other programs Brown, California, Princeton and Washington can boast such an achievement.