March 3, 2021

Rivals Rally but Ohio State Holds on to 1st and Momentum


Day 2 Men’s Big Ten S&D Championships

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s swimming team not only withstood charges by Indiana and defending champion Michigan to remain in the lead at the 2021 Big Ten Conference championships, but they kept big-time momentum behind some huge wins on the second day of the meet. The championships are being hosted by Ohio State University at its world class facility, the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.

Ohio State will enter Thursday and Day 3 with 628 total points and an 80.5-point lead over Indiana (547.5 points) and a 102-point lead over Michigan (526). Purdue with 414.5 points and Wisconsin with 345 points round out the Top 5.

Senior Paul Delakis started the Buckeyes off in fine fashion by winning the 200 individual medley in a personal-best time of 1:41.71. Connor Isings and Michael McFadden also scored points in the event for the Buckeyes from the C Final.

A short time later Sem Andreis, the junior from Bologna, Italy who won Ohio State championships in the 50 and 100 freestyles at New Philadelphia (Ohio) High School as an exchange student, powered to the fifth-fastest time in Big Ten history and to a school-record with a winning time of 19.05 in the 50 freestyle. Hunter Armstrong joined Andreis in the final and was fourth in a personal-best time of 19.19. Justin Fleagle, who went faster than he’s ever gone in the 50 (19.96), and Colin McDermott scored in the event out of the C Final.

Freshman Charlie Clark, from Sandusky, Ohio and in his first Big Ten final, then set a personal-best for the second time Wednesday by placing fourth in the 500 freestyle with a time of 4:17.74. North Hansen made the B final and placed 15th. He set a personal-best in the prelims with a time of 4:21.65. Carson Burt scored from the C final.

The evening concluded with the 400 medley relay. Ohio State entered with only the eighth-fastest seed time, but the team of Armstrong, Hudson McDaniel, Andreis and Delakis swam to a school record time of 3:03.17 to take third.

Championship competition continues Thursday with prelims in the morning and evening finals – 6:30 p.m. start – in the 100 butterfly, 400 individual medley and 200 freestyle.

Big Ten Conference Championships

Men’s Swimming

March 2-6

Columbus, Ohio – McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion

Wednesday Final Results

Event winners and all Ohio State point scorers listed.

200 individual medley – 1. Paul Delakis, 1:41.71 B; 23. Connor Isings, 1:48.58; 24. Evan McFadden, 1:49.34.

50 freestyle – 1. Sem Andreis, *19:05 B; 4. Hunter Armstrong, 19.19 B; 20. Justin Fleagle, 19.96 B; 21. Colin McDermott, 19.97.

500 freestyle – 1. Jacob Mitchell (UM), 4:12.92 B; 4. Charles Clark, 4:17.74 B; 15. North Hansen, 4:23.86; 24. Carson Burt, 4:23.88.

400 medley relay – 1. Indiana, 3:02.57 A; 3. Ohio State (Armstrong, McDaniel, Andreis, Delakis), *3:03.17 A.

*Ohio State school record.

Team Scores – Day 2 (includes all diving)

  1. Ohio State – 628
  2. Indiana – 547.5
  3. Michigan – 526
  4. Purdue – 414.5
  5. Wisconsin – 345
  6. Northwestern – 296
  7. Penn State – 267
  8. Minnesota – 259
  9. Iowa – 250
  10. Michigan State – 102