April 19, 2014

Photo Gallery 


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Fans enjoyed sunny skies and temperatures in the mid 60s while watching 24 of the top teams in the Midwest compete at the 29th Jesse Owens Track Classic Saturday afternoon at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium.

The top individual performer for home-standing Ohio State was senior Jordan Rispress, who raced to a personal-best and first-place time of 51.51 in the 400-meter hurdles. The winning time from Rispress ranks 15th in Division I this season.

Other highlights:

Senior Brandon Blackwell won his heat and placed seventh overall in a time of 10.79 seconds. John Lundy of Notre Dame College was the champion in 10.51 seconds.

110m hurdles
Senior Justin Hines used a season-best time of 14.45 seconds to finish sixth. Former Cincinnati athlete Terrence Somerville, competing unattached, won the event in 13.81 seconds.

Runner-up honors went to senior Javon Walker in a season-best time of 47.94. Kent State freshman Matthew Tobin overtook Walker down the stretch to win in a time of 47.72.

Freshman Anthony Johnson turned in a fourth-place time of 1:52.24. Dillon Webster of Findlay placed first in 1:50.71.

Shot Put
Sophomore J.C. Murasky cleared a personal-best 18.53 meters (60-9.50) to place fourth overall. Curtis Jensen of Illinois State was first with a throw of 20.21 meters (66-3.75).

Pole Vault
Seniors Cody Marshall and Tyler Borton finished fifth and sixth, respectively, at 4.90 meters (16-0.75). Marshall earned the tiebreak by clearing the height on his first attempt. Max Babits of Eastern Michigan was the winner at 5.30 meters (17-4.50).

4x100m Relay
Ohio State – freshman Donovan Robertson, junior Nick Batcha, junior Timothy Faust and Blackwell – raced to a season-best time of 40.14, a Top 30 performance nationally. Kent State was the runner-up in 40.46 seconds.

4x400m Relay
The Buckeye team – sophomore Armand Austin, Rispress, Walker and freshman LaMar Bruton – combined for a first-place time of 3:10.40. Michigan State was second in 3:11.77.