April 25, 2008


COLUMBUS, Ohio The OhioState women’s lacrosse team (10-6; 1-2 ALC) travels to No. 17 Johns Hopkins Monday, April 28, for a 3 p.m. American Lacrosse Conference game against the Blue Jays (6-8, 0-2 ALC) at Homewood Field.  



OhioState is 10-6 overall and 6-3 at home. The Buckeyes are 1-2 in American Lacrosse Conference action and 9-4 in non-conference play for 2008.  Six seniors — Kacie Caldwell, Bethany Carey, Kristen Hannon, Jessica Patane, Amanda Shimp and Kristen Slahor  — are concluding their careers for the Buckeyes this season.


Johns Hopkins leads the all-time series with OhioState by a 4-2 count. The Blue Jays have won the last two meetings between the schools.



Senior Kristen Slahor, who has 55 assists through 16 games, is ranked first among the NCAA leaders in that category this week. Her average of 3.53 per game through 15 contests put her ahead of Syracuse’s Katie Rowan, who had a 3.20 average through 15 games. Slahoris also third in the nation in scoring.



Kristen Slahor has been named to’s national honor roll for the week of April 21. She tied an Ohio State single-game scoring record with 11 points in the win over PennState, scoring six goals and adding five assists. That mark was previously set by Mara Simpson against Earlham in 1996. Slahor also became the first player in Buckeye history to surpass 200 career points.



At OhioState, senior Kristen Slahor has climbed to the top of the all-time scoring leaders list. Her 215 career points have surpassed the total of current assistant coach Megan Mirick, who scored 182 points from 1999-2002.


Slahorset OhioState season records in 2007 with 73 points and 45 assists. The Ellicott City, Md., product has 32 goals and new OSU records of 55 assists and 87 points this season. She also ranks tenth in career goals scored with 82.



Jessica Patane is now fifth in career goals scored among OhioState’s all-time leaders. Patane has 91 goals to date. The Ohio State career top 10: 1) Megan Mirick (143); 2) Regina Oliver (125); 3) Shannon Wilson (110); 4) Tracey Bounds (107); 5) Jessica Patane (91); 6) Celeste Cianfrani (87); 7) Lauren Cochran (86); 8) Mara Simpson (84); 9) Erin Andersen (83); 10) Kristen Slahor (82).



Sophomore Brittney Zerhusen set an OhioState single-game record with seven goals against Bucknell, all coming in the first half. Zerhusen finished the evening with eight points.



The Buckeye scoring attack has plenty of weapons; seven different OhioState players have scored at least 20 points in 2008. Leading that list is Kristen Slahor, with 87 points (32 goals and 55 assists).

Brittney Zerhusen (31 goals, nine assists) has 40 points scored. Next in scoring are Kelly Haggerty (42), Jessica Patane (32), Amanda Shimp (29), Maghan Beaudrault (24) and Rachel Hawes (22).



Senior Kristen Slahor was selected as the American Lacrosse Conference’s player of the week for March 4 after two exceptional performances against Cal-Davis and California. The Ellicott City, Md., native tied an OhioState game record with eight assists in the 18-7 win at Davis; six of those assists were in the first half. In the 10-7 win over California, Slahor scored two goals and three assists, both team highs.


Two Buckeye seniors received preseason honors from the ALC. Attackers Slahorand Jessica Patane (Farmingdale, N.Y.) were part of the 14-player squad selected by the ALC’s head coaches prior to 2008 conference play.



In her 13th season as head coach of the Buckeyes, Sue Stimmel holds a 102-96 record at OhioState. Her career coaching record is 178-114 including six years at Denison.


Coach Stimmel’s first Buckeye win was a 7-6 victory at Mt. St. Mary’s March 30, 1996. Her 50th win at OhioState was a 12-11 decision at Maryland March 31, 2002. Her 100th Buckeye win was a 15-5 home win against Davidson April 13, 2008.


Stimmel was president of the Midwest Lacrosse Association from 1991-98, serving as a member of the executive board for the USWLA.  She is a past chair of the mid-Atlantic NCAA Regional Advisory Committee and the Division I Vice-President of the IWLCA. Stimmel is the current chair of the IWLCA Ethics Committee. In 2000, Stimmel was inducted into the Ohio Lacrosse Foundation Hall of Fame.


OhioState’s assistant coaches are prominent alums of the Buckeye lacrosse program: Megan Mirick (2003) and Kylee White (2002).



OhioState begins play in the American Lacrosse Conference tournament (May 2-4) at Northwestern.