July 1, 2021

Record 232 Buckeyes Named B1G Distinguished Scholars


2020-21 Ohio State Big Ten Distinguished Scholars

COLUMBUS, Ohio – A record 232 Ohio State student-athletes have been recognized by the Big Ten Conference with Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Awards. The previous high for Ohio State was 164 in 2019-20.

Ohio State and Michigan State (299) were the only B1G schools with more than 200 honorees this year. Rutgers was third (188), followed by Penn State (181) and Minnesota (180).

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher for a student-athlete’s academic career. In all, the B1G honored 2,132 student-athletes across the conference as Big Ten Distinguished Scholars for 2020-21.

The complete list of Ohio State’s Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award recipients is available via PDF at the link above.

Of the Buckeye honorees, 48 posted a 4.0 grade-point average for the 2020-21 school year: JonErik Alford (men’s golf), Aziza Ayoub (women’s track and field), Laura Banks (women’s swimming and diving), Bence Bende (men’s fencing), Matteo Bennati (men’s soccer), Tevin Brown (men’s track and field), Lisa Bruno (women’s ice hockey), Joey Canova (men’s swimming and diving), Gavin Cupp (football), Lauryn DeLuca (women’s fencing), Elexis Edwards (women’s gymnastics), Luke Farrell (football), Jordan Fry (women’s volleyball), Jennifer Gardiner (women’s ice hockey), Hannah Gruensfelder (women’s volleyball), Mica Harr (rifle), Skylar Hayward (softball), Paige Hopper (synchronized swimming), Ali House (women’s swimming and diving), Mara Hunter (field hockey), Jay Johnson (men’s swimming and diving), Andrea Kuhn (women’s track and field), Henry Lange (men’s fencing), Tre Leclaire (men’s lacrosse), Evan McFadden (men’s swimming and diving), Parker Mikesch (men’s volleyball), Colby Miller (women’s gymnastics), Emma Montgomery (women’s fencing), Emily Nothnagle (rifle), Corey Rau (football), Nick Regas (men’s cross country/men’s track and field), Jillian Rizzo (women’s lacrosse), Sarah Rowland (women’s gymnastics), Olivia Schafer (synchronized swimming) Fritz Schierl (wrestling), Zach Schultz (men’s cross country/men’s track and field), Tim Seibert (men’s tennis), Tatum Skaggs (women’s ice hockey), Emily Skrzypczak (women’s lacrosse), Evan Stapp (men’s swimming and diving), Sammy Stone (field hockey), Ryan Terefenko (men’s lacrosse), Skylar Thompson (women’s golf), Tess Thompson (rowing), Sarah Walsh (synchronized swimming), Jacob Wareti (men’s tennis), Lauren Witte (women’s volleyball) and Lyle Yost (men’s swimming and diving).