July 5, 2017

Record 115 Buckeyes Earn B1G Distinguished Scholar Accolades


July 5, 2017

 Full List of Ohio State Distinguished Scholars

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Ohio State had a league-high and school record 115 student-athletes named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars, the conference announced Wednesday. This is the first time Ohio State has had 100+ honorees; the previous record of 91 was set last year.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Similar to the Academic All-Big Ten honor, Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution. However, the Distinguished Scholar Award encompasses only students with a minimum grade-point average of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student’s academic career.

Fifteen Buckeyes were recognized for maintaining a 4.0 grade-point average during 2016-17: Alexa Aton (Sr., synchronized swimming), Noah Best (So., men’s lacrosse), Christy Blough (Sr., men’s volleyball), Matt Davis (Jr., wrestling), Kendal Elder (Sr., rifle), Eleanor Harvey (Sr., fencing), Joey Long (Sr., men’s swimming and diving), J. Reed McGraw (So., men’s swimming and diving), Cheyenne Meek (Jr., women’s swimming and diving), Nicole Miyashiro (Sr., women’s soccer), Kelsey Nolan (So., field hockey), Chelsea Quinn (Sr., field hockey), Nic Smith (Sr., pistol), Nathan Tomasello (Sr., wrestling) and Josh Tublin (Sr., men’s volleyball).

In addition to finishing second in the Director’s Cup for overall athletic success, the Buckeyes had an outstanding year academically. Ohio State had a conference-record 394 Academic All-Big Ten honorees and a school record 626 student-athletes were recognized as Ohio State Scholar-Athletes.

The complete list of 2017 Ohio State Distinguished Scholars is in the PDF above.