June 10, 2020

Quintet of Buckeyes Named Academic All-Big Ten


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Five members of the Ohio State men’s tennis team were honored on Wednesday by the Big Ten for their academic performance as they were named Academic All-Big Ten.

Kyle Seelig earns the award for the fourth time while John McNally and Jacob Wareti were honored for the third year in a row. Tim Seibert picks up his second award and Andrew Lutschaunig claims his first distinction.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must have been enrolled fulltime at their institution for a minimum of 12 months and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. Ohio State has had 66 players earn Academic All-Big Ten honors since the award began in 1987.

Ohio State Buckeyes

The program also received the NCAA Public Recognition Award for the third year in a row and the seventh time overall. The award is given each year to teams scoring in the Top 10 percent in each sport based on their most recent multi-year Academic Progress Rates (APR). The team also landed all 10 athletes on the OSU Scholar-Athlete list.

When the remainder of the 2020 season was canceled, the squad was well on its way to yet another Big Ten title. The Buckeyes, ranked in the Top 6 all season, were 14-3, had two wins over No. 1 ranked teams and advanced to the semifinals of the ITA National Indoor Team Championship.

Seelig is planning to use the NCAA waiver for spring sports athletes to return next season and every other member of the team will return as well.