What is your major … what do you plan on doing after your hockey career is over?
My major is undecided right now, but I plan to go into sports management. I want to stay involved with sports because that’s what I love.

How old were you when you started playing hockey and why did you start?
I was 4 and my dad took me out to Initiation Hockey, where he coached me until I was 14 or 15.

Describe your hometown …
My hometown is Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada, with a population of about 11,000. It’s located in the Northwest along the Pacific fringe and has the largest grizzly population per capita and lots of hiking and outdoor activities. I can go out my backdoor and be hiking within 10 minutes; we are in a canyon surrounded by mountains. There is lots of fishing and golfing and we also have two hockey rinks so for a small town it has lots of ice time. During winters lots of snow can get on your roof and you can jump off into snow banks. School gets called off some days because there is too much snow and you can’t get out of the streets. It is a beautiful area. You were on a search and rescue team that looked for missing hikers. How did you get involved with that? How old were you? What all was involved?
The search and rescue team included 20 people. Two hikers, who I knew from seeing at the gym, went missing out on the largest mountain, Mt. Elizabeth. My dad was part of the team and asked me if I wanted to help out (I was 17 at the time). I got into it and got emotionally tied. We searched from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. all over the mountains in groups of five, with walkie-talkies so we didn’t get lost. There were lots of bears up there. We got helicoptered to the top of the mountain and trekked down through glaciers and canyons looking out for snow crevices (cracks in ice that are small and if you step too hard you can go through that made it intimidating). It gets cloudy up on top and you have to be careful because you can’t see; the mountain is so high up you have to be careful where you step. The search lasted five days before the parents of the hikers called it off. They were eventually found later in the month.

What other sports did you play growing up? Which did you like best?
I played a lot of soccer; I played on Team B.C. that went to Vancouver for provincials. In soccer, I played midfield and my dad coached me growing up in that, also. I played a couple years of baseball as well, where I played backcatcher.

Where is the best place hockey has taken you?
The best place hockey has taken me is to Ohio State. I also played on Team Pacific, representing British Columbia and Alberta in the Under-17 World Hockey Challenge in New Glascow/Truro, Nova Scotia.

What is your college hockey highlight?
It was scoring two goals against Michigan at home. Also, going to the NCAA tourney in Providence.

Why do you wear No. 10? Why did you wear No. 19 last season?
I wore number 9 growing up and had 19 in juniors. When I got to Ohio State, nine was taken and so was 19, so I took the closest to 9 (10). This year I changed to 19 because it was what I wore in junior.

Who has been the biggest influence on your hockey career?
A few people have influenced my career – my dad (Fred), Scotty Westgate (minor hockey coach) and Glen Watson and Jeff Rowland (junior coaches).

What did you do over the summer?
I trained and worked out and did some road biking and hiking. I also fished with my dad, friends and Scotty Westgate, my old hockey coach.

What do you enjoy doing in your spare time?
I enjoy hanging out with my roommates, watching hockey on television and, of course, I can’t forget about the Younkin Success Center.

Where is your favorite spot in Columbus? Why?
My favorite spot in Columbus is Easton Town Center. I go out there and it’s relaxing; there is lots to do and good scenery.