Aug. 16, 2011

2011 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State men’s soccer goalkeeper Matt Lampson was named to the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy Watch List, announced earlier this week.

Lampson, a First Team All-Big Ten honoree in 2010, is one of 42 players on the preseason list and the only selection from the Big Ten, as well as one of three goalkeepers. The senior from Hilliard, Ohio, led the conference in goals-against average (0.72), save percentage (.857) and shutouts (10) as a sophomore last season.

“I could not be more thrilled for Matt,” John Bluem, Ohio State head coach said. “He has proven over the last two seasons he is one of the best goalkeepers in, not just the conference, but the country. This recognition is a testament to his hard work and dedication.”

This is the just second time an Ohio State player has been named a Hermann Trophy candidate. Eric Brunner, a senior on the 2007 NCAA College Cup runner-up team, was a watch list selection at the start of that record-breaking season.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. The recipients are selected by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Voting for the MAC Hermann Trophy is conducted in late November, when a field of 15 semifinalists is reduced to three finalists. Those three will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 6, 2012, where a news conference will be held to announce the winner, followed by a banquet to honor the three finalists.

A total of 35 different schools and seven countries are represented on the 2011 list, including players from the United States, Australia, Brazil, England, Ghana, New Zealand and Sweden.

Lampson and the Buckeyes open the regular season at the Penn State Classic vs. American and Siena, Aug. 27 and 29, respectively. They will have a pair of preseason tune-ups, the first at 7 p.m. Wednesday against Wright State in Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium and the second vs. Denver at 1 p.m. Sunday in Fort Wayne, Ind., as part of the National Soccer Festival.