April 26, 2016


COLUMBUS, Ohio – For the third time in as many seasons, Ohio State junior classmates Katja Pogacar and Jessica Porvasnik have picked up All-Big Ten recognition. In 2016, both Buckeyes are members of the All-Big Ten First Team, the second such distinction for each. Pogacar makes the First Team for the second straight year after placement on the Second Team as a freshman in 2015. Porvasnik, meanwhile, began her career as a ‘14 All-B1G First Teamer and has returned to the top classification after receiving Second Team honors in 2015.

Scarlet & Gray represents one-quarter of the eight-player First Team. In addition, fellow third-year student Rio Watanabe is the recipient of the team’s Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

Pogacar and Porvasnik have played in all 11 events for the Buckeyes this season, contributing to the team tally in 60 of a possible 66 rounds. Both have finished in the top-25 individually for seven different tournaments. In the most recent competition, the Big Ten Championships, Pogacar finished as runner-up for the second straight year while Porvasnik notched her third consecutive top-10 showing in the conference event.

For the season, Pogacar is averaging 73.06 strokes per round to pace the Buckeyes. She also leads the squad with a pair of top-5 individual performances and a total of 13 rounds at or below par, including four ledgers in the 60s. Porvasnik boasts a 73.45 stroke average on the strength of six rounds under par.

Pogacar, Porvasnik and the rest of the Ohio State women’s golf team was selected as the NCAA Stanford Regionals’ No. 8 seed. The next step towards advancement to the NCAA Championships Finals starts on May 5.

Big Ten Player of the Year: Hannah Kim, Northwestern
Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Stephanie Lau, Northwestern
Big Ten Coach of the Year: Emily Fletcher, Northwestern

First Team

Sarah Burnham, Michigan State
Sarah Cho, Northwestern
Hannah Kim, Northwestern
Kacie Komoto, Northwestern
Stephanie Lau, Northwestern
Katja Pogacar, Ohio State
Jessica Porvasnik, Ohio State

August Kim, Purdue

Second Team
Bing Singhsumalee, Illinois
Camille Chevalier, Indiana
Amy Ihm, Iowa
Grace Choi, Michigan
Katie Sharp, Michigan State
Janet Mao, Northwestern
Anna Appert Lund, Purdue
Brooke Ferrell, Wisconsin

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Pailin Ruttanasupagid, Illinois
Ana Sanjuan, Indiana
Amy Ihm, Iowa
Ludovica Farina, Maryland
Grace Choi, Michigan
Katie Sharp, Michigan State
Emie Peronnin, Minnesota
Cassie Deeg, Nebraska
Suchaya Tangkamolprasert, Northwestern
Rio Watanabe, Ohio State
Halley Morell, Penn State
Anna Appert Lund, Purdue
Racquel Zurick, Rutgers
Michelle Cheung, Wisconsin