Oct. 28, 1999

Ohio State senior co-captain Ahmed Plummer has been named a recipient of a 1999 National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Scholarship. He is the 18th Ohio State student-athlete to receive the award and joins the likes of Joey Galloway, Bobby Hoying and Greg Bellisari as Ohio State’s most recent NFF Scholarship winners. Ohio State has more NFF scholarships than any other school in the nation.

National Football Foundation scholar athlete scholarships are awarded yearly on the basis of grade point average, academic performance, outstanding football ability as a first team player, and a strong sense of leadership and citizenship. Winners receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship and will be honored at the Founder’s 42nd Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 7 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

Plummer has impacted the lives of youth in Columbus by serving as a mentor in the Boyz To Men program at the Columbus Christian Center and by speaking to local youth at three elementary schools. He also has visited children at Ohio State’s Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital. Plummer is extremely involved with Campus Crusade for Christ, a weekly Bible study, and the Majority of One program. He was a spokesperson for the Swim for Diabetes program and was awarded a community service award by the South Solon Community Church.

The Wyoming, Ohio native has balanced his time on the practice field and in the classroom. He is a two-time GTE/CoSIDA District IV Academic All-American, a two-time Academic all-Big Ten Conference selection, and a four-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete.

Plummer, one of 15 1999 scholarship winners, has played in 43 games and started 33-consecutive times as a cornerback for the Buckeyes. He leads the team in 1999 with three interceptions and has five pass break-ups. Plummer also has recorded 32 tackles, 27 of which are solo. He was named a semifinalist for the Thorpe Award, given annually to the nation’s outstanding defensive back, Oct. 27. National Football Foundation Scholarship winners this year are: Terrence Anderson (United States Naval Academy), Mark Baniewicz (Syracuse), David Brcka (Iowa State), Shaun Castillo (United States Military Academy), Keith Cockrum (Texas Tech.), Chad Morton (Southern California), Chad Pennington (Marshall), Ahmed Plummer (Ohio State), Robbie Renes (Michigan), William Broussard (Northwestern State), Giovanni Carmazzi (Hofstra), Mike Wynne (Massachusetts), Corte McGuffey (Northern Colorado), Cameron Demmerle (Centre College) and Craig Pierstorff (Wisconsin-Oshkosh).

One of the 15 scholarship winners will receive the Vincent dePaul Draddy Award. Often called the “Academic Heisman,” it is a $25,000 scholarship that goes toward postgraduate studies. Former Ohio State quarterback Bobby Hoying was the 1995 Draddy Scholarship winner.