May 27, 2020

Pletcher and Franklin Receive B1G Outstanding Sportsmanship Awards


Columbus, Ohio – Buckeye wrestler Luke Pletcher and Bia Franklin of the Ohio State women’s volleyball team have been recognized by the Big Ten as Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners, the Big Ten Conference announced Wednesday.

Members of varsity sports team on every campus were chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree and two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected from each institution. All of the Sportsmanship Award winners have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these honorees must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

During her time in Scarlet and Gray, Franklin was a three-time member of the women’s volleyball team’s leadership committee thanks to the example she set on and off the court. She worked diligently in the classroom to earn Ohio State Scholar-Athlete honors every year and was recognized as a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection. Franklin spent her last two summers in Columbus as a Bucks Go Pro and Huntington Bucks Go Pro 2.0 intern. She started her experience as an intern for the James Outreach and Network Development department before interning with Pelotonia in their social media and marketing department the following summer. Franklin used her passion for marketing and healthcare to put on the women’s volleyball team’s annual pink match, which recognizes and raises money for breast cancer survivors.

Pletcher laid hands on the 141-pound Big Ten title, capping off a career which included multiple trips to the All-American stand. He was the No. 1 seed and owner of a 26-1 season record entering the 2020 NCAA Championships prior to the event cancelation. Pletcher leaves Ohio State with a career record 108-21 with 23 major decisions, eight pins and five tech falls. Off the mat, Pletcher earned vast recognition for his academic efforts as well. He was named an NWCA Scholar All-American, Academic All-Big Ten honoree and Ohio State Scholar-Athlete in all seasons eligible for those awards.

Ohio State 2019-20 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Winners

Men’s Cross Country
Giovanni Copploe

Women’s Cross Country
Allison Gaugenti

Justin Hilliard

Men’s Soccer
Parker Siegfried

Women’s Soccer
Bailey Kolinski

Field Hockey
Jennica Jonovich

Bia Franklin

Men’s Gymnastics
Robert Costea

Women’s Gymnastics
Olivia Aepli

Men’s Basketball
Danny Hummer

Women’s Basketball
Jacy Sheldon

Men’s Indoor Track & Field
Robbie Oswald

Women’s Indoor Track & Field
Alexus Pyles

Men’s Swimming & Diving
Jacob Siler

Women’ Swimming & Diving
Laura Banks

Men’s Tennis
JJ Mercer

Women’s Tennis
Kolie Allen

Men’s Golf
Justin Wick

Women’s Golf
Adeena Shears

Men’s Hockey
Gordi Myer

Luke Pletcher

Men’s Fencing
Domenik Koch

Men’s Pistol
Robbie Delagrange

Men’s Rifle
Jacob Buchanan

Women’s Fencing
Gabriella Cecchini

Women’s Ice Hockey
Jincy Dunne

Women’s Pistol
Emily Nothnagle

Women’s Rifle
Rhiann Travis

Synchronized Swimming
Kaitlyn Carboun