Nov. 9, 2006

NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – Ohio State Defensive Tackle Quinn Pitcock was named a semifinalist for third annual Lott Trophy, it was announced today.

Linebackers Buster Davis of Florida State, Patrick Willis of Mississippi and Paul Posluszny of Penn State join Pitcock, safety Michael Griffin of Texas, cornerback Daymeion Hughes of Cal and defensive end Mkistro Bruce of Washington State on the list.

Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Now in its third year, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

“These seven players represent the best of college football, as athletes, teammates, leaders and students,” said Lott. “Each has impressed us with his commitment, his work ethic and his contributions to his team.”

Pitcock anchors the No. 1-ranked Ohio State defense. The Buckeyes lead the country in scoring defense, yielding just 7.6 points per game. Pitcock leads the team with 7 sacks among his 31 tackles.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the Lott award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

David Pollack of Georgia and DeMeco Ryans of Alabama were the winners of the first two Lott Trophies. Both Georgia and Alabama received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds. In two years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has donated $170,000 to various charities, in addition to the two universities.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and Master Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches.

Three finalists will be announced by Lott on Nov. 25 with the winner being recognized at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach Dec. 10. The key-note speaker at this year’s event will be Pro Football Hall of Famer and long-time Monday Night Football announcer Frank Gifford,

The 7 Semifinalists:
Mkistro Bruce, Sr, DE, Washington State
Buster Davis, Sr., LB, Florida State
Michael Griffin, Sr., DB, Texas
Daymeion Hughes, Sr., CB, Cal
Quinn Pitcock, Sr., DT, Ohio State
Paul Posluszny, Sr., LB, Penn State
Patrick Willis, Sr., LB, Mississippi