COLUMBUS, Ohio The OhioState pistol team’s Seth Berglee (Jr., Billings, Mont.) and Teresa Meyer (Sr., Dearborn, Mich.) won individual national championships on the first day of competition at the Collegiate Nationals held at Ft. Benning, Ga. Berglee captured the open free pistol title with a 621 score. Meyer defended her title in women’s air pistol for the third consecutive year by scoring a 471.6.


Krystin Schmid (5th-Sr., Granville, Ohio) finished seventh in the open free pistol event with a 603 mark and was fifth in women’s air pistol scoring a 452.2


OhioState won the women’s air pistol event, shooting a 1,072. The U.S. Naval Academy was second scoring 1,070 with the U. S. Military Academy taking third at 1,063. OSU’s winning squad included Meyer at 374, Schmidt shooting a 361 and Lauren Diefenderfer (Sr., Bear, Del.) with a 337.


The open free pistol team was third in the event, shooting a 1,991. The U.S. Naval Academy won the event with a 2,008 mark with M.I.T. second at 1,994. Team members for the Buckeyes included Berglee with a 530, Schmidt at 517, Tyler Phillips (So., New Philadelphia) scoring 450 and Ryan Devine (So., Columbus, Ohio) shooting a 495


Competition continues Thursday with the open standard pistol in the morning and the women’s sport pistol in the afternoon.