May 3, 2016


COLUMBUS, Ohio — Pete Hanson will roam the sidelines of Tuesday’s (May 3) NCAA Tournament play-in match as the 2016 National Coach of the Year, released by the American Volleyball Coaches Association. Hanson has guided the Ohio State men’s volleyball squad to 20 consecutive victories, an overall record of 28-3 and the No. 3 seed for this week’s NCAA Tournament.

Hanson has now finished four career campaigns with National Player of the Year laurels in hand. He’s earned the AVCA recognition three times (2000, 2011, 2016) and twice from Volleyball Magazine (1998, 2011).

Four of Hanson’s charges picked up AVCA All-America love to open the week on Monday (May 2), the most in school history (First Team — Miles Johnson, Nicolas Szerszen; Second Team — Christy Blough; Honorable Mention — Gabriel Domecus).The 2016 AVCA National Player of the Week will be announced Wednesday (May 4) evening.

-19th NCAA Tournament appearance for Ohio State
-Buckeyes have advanced to the NCAA Finals three times (1977, 2000 and 2011)
-28 wins are the most in a season since the 1993 squad posted a 28-10 mark
-First MIVA Tournament title and NCAA Tournament appearance since 2011
-15th MIVA Tournament crown all-time, breaking a tie with Ball State (14) for most in conference history
-Ohio State has won 60 of 73 sets played during the current 20-match winning streak
-Ohio State hasn’t suffered a loss since Feb. 6, a span of over 90 days