October 12, 2017

Pete Hanson – Hall of Fame Weekend


Oct. 12, 2017

Pete Hanson is coming off back-to-back NCAA men’s volleyball national championships in 2016-17, marking the Buckeyes’ third national title since 2011. Hanson has guided the OSU men’s volleyball program for over three decades (1985-present) and owns an overall winning percentage of .669 (677-335) with a 296-90 (.777) mark in conference matches. He is no stranger to Hall of Fame induction, selected to the 2015 American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Hall of Fame class as one of just 70 members overall at the time of his enshrinement.

AVCA admiration is also nothing new for Hanson, earning the organization’s National Coach of the Year award three times since 2000 (’00, ’11, ’16). Volleyball Magazine recognized him as such, too, in both 1998 and 2011. Hanson’s career is well-decorated at the league level as well, voted as the Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association (MIVA) Coach of the Year a conference-record 13 times. The Hanson-driven Buckeyes broke through in 2011 to capture just the third national crown from a Midwest school in NCAA men’s volleyball history (Penn State, 1994 and 2008) dating back to 1970. The trend has continued since with MIVA representation reigning supreme in five of the last seven seasons.

In total, Hanson has accumulated 17 MIVA regular season championships, 12 MIVA Tournament titles, 12 NCAA Semifinals appearances and three NCAA national trophies. Under his leadership, the Buckeyes have registered 20-or-more wins in 21 of 33 seasons, including the past two campaigns of 31 and 32 victories in 2016 and 2017, respectively. Those ’16-17 Buckeyes rattled off 42 consecutive wins ranging 398 days between losses, marking the longest winning streak in OSU Athletics history for teams competing in head-to-head competition and third-best in NCAA men’s volleyball all-time.

Five of Hanson’s pupils have been bestowed the Big Ten Medal of Honor, awarded annually to one male and one female student-athlete from the graduating class of each member institution who has “attained the greatest proficiency in athletics and scholastic work.”